The day Captain Kangaroo visited Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood

I had a warm, fuzzy flashback this morning.

One of my favorite TV shows as a kid was the Captain Kangaroo children’s show – with the Captain, Mr. Green Jeans, Dancing Bear, Mr. Moose, Bunny Rabbit, the cartoons, all the fun stuff.

Another one of my favorite TV shows as a kid was Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood, where the gentle and affable Fred Rogers would bring us to the Neighborhood of Make-Believe and provide us with gentle, fun entertainment five afternoons a week.

So imagine my pleasant surprise when I found this video clip of Mr. Rogers and Captain Kangaroo – appearing together in a rare television episode.ย  Scuse me while I change into my sweater and sneakers and grab a bowl of Rice Krispies.

This clip is waycool – in that not only do we get Captain Kangaroo and Mr. Rogers talking together, we also get a nice episode of the Neighborhood of Make-Believe, with Bunny Rabbit visiting King Friday XIII’s castle.

This is so cool… and let’s face it, how many kids watched these shows and learned wonderful life lessons at the same time?

Trust me… in times like these, I’d rather watch Captain Kangaroo and Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood over the latest newscasts in a heartbeat.

Who’s with me on this?