Week 10 of the 2017 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

With only a couple of weeks left in the trivia league series, I’m still at the bottom looking up.  And if I don’t start winning some playoff points AND SOON, I’ll be behind the 8-ball as the final round commences.

So here we go.

The mystery second category involved fast food trivia -we were shown a picture of a fast food item and asked to identify the restaurant of its origin.  Some of the pictures were easy identifiers – a McFlurry from McDonald’s, a chicken sandwich from Burger King – but the ten-point question was a picture of a taco salad.

I immediately scribbled down Taco Bell as my answer … then realized, “It can’t be that simple … not for a 10-point question.”

And I looked at the picture … and realized that Taco Bell’s taco salad comes in a formed taco bowl shell.  This picture shows tortilla chips as the base.  Hmm…

In the end, I used my double-chance and wrote down Taco Bell and Wendy’s.  If I was wrong … 20 points down the drain.

It was Wendy’s.  Saved my bacon – and my taco salad, too.

The game progressed rather quickly, and in the end I had 81 points going into the final question.  Again, I used my strategy from last week – bet everything I had, and if I get the question right, at least I’ll receive raffle tickets.  Five teams ahead of me.  No way do I have a chance at points.

Especially when the category is “American Buildings.”

Screw it.  Bet everything.

A picture of this building was shown … along with the question, “In what city is this building located?”

Holy Tony Bennett, Batman… I know this cold.  That’s the TransAmerica Pyramid in San Francisco.  I scribbled San Francisco on the slip, and handed it in.

Everybody else wrote down San Francisco as well.  They all knew it was the correct answer.

But now I have to hope … did anybody bet safely, to the point where I was able to jump them in points?

Nacho Punch and Dan 2017 had the correct answer and bet considerable point totals.  They finished 1 nd 2.  But the Fist, Woo Hoo a Go Go and New Phone Who Dis bet safe bets.

I jumped them – and in addition to 16 raffle tickets claimed, I also secured a valuable playoff point for third place.

Whew.  Momentum back on the upswing.  Aces.

So here’s the new point totals after ten weeks of the game.

Week 10 of the Graney’s Stout Spring Trivia League  Starter Points for Final Game
Dan 2017: The Next Generation 16
The Fist 12
New Phone, Who Dis 12
Nacho Punch 12
Street Academy 7
Woo Hoo a Go Go 5

Ten weeks down, two weeks to go until the final game on June 28.

