Another test of my IRIX lens

Of late, I’ve really enjoyed my new Irix 15mm f/2.4 super-ultrawide rectilinear camera lens.   I used it last month to capture my Stone, Saltwater, Surf and Seagulls picture, which is already aimed for Competition Season 2017.

Stone, Saltwater, Surf and Seagulls. Nikon Df camera, Irix 15mm f/2.4 lens. Photo (c) Chuck Miller, all rights reserved.

But one picture does not a lens purchase make.  I need to see what else this lens can create.

And with that in mind, I decided another trip to the North Country was necessary.  I slapped the IRIX 15mm f/2.4 lens on my Nikon Df camera, and it’s off to Corinth I go.

Sunday morning in Saratoga County.  I basically went back to locales that I’ve captured in the past, just trying to see what results could be gleaned with this new super-ultra-wide.

First off was a visit to the Carp Pond on Locust Grove Road in Corinth.

Carp Pond. Nikon Df camera, Irix 15mm f/2.4 lens. Photo (c) Chuck Miller, all rights r eserved.

This is awesome.  I should get here earlier in the day and try to capture morning sunbeams over this glistening pond.

Okay, now over to South Corinth for a visit with Brookhaven Pond – or, as most people who read my blog might recognize it for its alternate name, Vivaldi’s Pond.  Yes, this is where I captured Vivaldi’s Pond.  Secret’s out. 😀

Brookhaven Pond, South Corinth. Nikon Df camera, Irix 15mm f/2.4 lens. Photo (c) Chuck Miller, all rights reserved.

Yeah, there’s a drainage spillway at this pond.  Amazing what you can accidentally capture when you photograph this pond in portrait mode.

Driving along Route 9N, I found the hilltop barn that was the subject of my old Kodachrome photo Barn Versus Weeds.  And as you can see … the weeds have completely taken over the barn as of late.

The Takeover, Greenfield Center. Nikon Df camera, Irix 15mm f/2.4 lens. Photo (c) Chuck Miller, all rights reserved.

Smooth.

So yeah, the Irix is definitely passing all the tests.

But I’ll have one big test for it later this year.  And I hope it passes this test with flying colors.

Trust me on this.

2 thoughts on “Another test of my IRIX lens”

Leave a Reply

