An update on the Honeywell Farms project

Last week, I started a project involving a dairy and produce crate from Honeywell Farms, a New York City-based agricultural produce center.

I disassembled the original crate, removed as much of the old battleship grey paint as possible, and cleaned the front with soapy water.

Now for the next steps.

I took some of the leftover boards from the crate and used them as backers for the panels.  Some super-strong Titebond wood glue to keep everything together, followed by some powerful hinge clamps around the perimeter of the board.

Now comes the next part of the project.  There’s a lot of wear and tear on this sign, and some of the blue lettering and marking has worn away – partially from age, partially from the paint smears.  I need to touch this up here and there.

And by “touch up here and there,” I mean using some Rustoleum bright blue paint on fine brushes to fix things up a smidge.

Oh, and I also added more clamps.

As you can see from the photo on the right, the logo now has a shine in the sunlight.  This is cool.  I traced the entire outline of the logo, the vertical display lines, and anything else that needed a touch-up tweak.  Now I let this dry.

While working on this project, I wanted to find out more about Honeywell Farms.  Some of my Facebook friends kindly sent me links that confirmed Honeywell Farms provided milk and dairy products throughout the New York City area, and later changed its name to Elmhurst Dairy in 1994.  Unfortunately, Elmhurst Dairy – the last remaining creamery based in the New York City Area – closed its doors in 2016.

Twenty-four hours after my glue-and-paint job, I removed the clamps.  Everything seemed well anchored.  And the paint felt cured.

Okay, now to add a nice protective coating.  Another trip to the store.  And this time, I picked up a wax compound that was a mixture of beeswax, carnauba wax and orange oil.  I rubbed the compound into the wooden slats, rubbing and working the mixture into the grain.  Half an hour later, I wiped away the excess.

And here’s the final results.  Say hello to my second “decorative crate art” piece, Honeywell Farms.

What do you think?  Nice little diversion of a project, eh?  From old broken crate to kinda-cool-looking folk art?

Yeah, this was a fun project.  And lately I’ve been doing a lot of these fun projects, even more so in the past two months than previously.

Jeez, I keep this up and next thing I know, I might have a woodworking show on the local PBS station.  Ha.

Leave a Reply

