What the Grasshopper Saw

I love photographing the tulips at TulipFest every year.ย  But last weekend had intermittent rainstorms, and I decided to wait until Monday to get the shots I wanted.

And the shots I wanted … included shooting with an old vintage lens attachment.

Follow me on this.

About eight years ago, I purchased a Kenko 180ยฐ front lens attachment, which allows me to snag photos with an almost bug’s-eye view.ย  I took some test pictures with it … and then put the lens away.ย  Maybe I took it out once or twice after that … but for all intents and purposes, the lens stayed on the shelf.

So now it’s Monday, the day after TulipFest.ย  If I want to capture beautiful tulip photos before the tulip petals wilt and fall away … today’s my only shot.

And I had an idea.

I took the Nikon Df camera and a 50mm f/1.8 manual focus lens (also known in photo circles as the “Nifty Fifty”).ย  And I attached the Kenko 180ยฐ lens to the front of the Nifty Fifty.

Off to Washington Park I go.

Rather than just photograph the flowers from above, I planned on putting the camera in the tulip garden.ย  Yes.ย  IN THE TULIP GARDEN.ย  If I do this correctly, I should see the stems and petals and blooms above me, just as if I were a grasshopper looking up.

A few test shots.ย  In order to stay as far out of frame as possible, I attached a manual shutter release to the camera, and tried to hide behind some bushes.

And after a few tries here and there … and some curious gawks from other photo visitors, wondering what the hell is this crazy guy doing with the tulips …

I got this photo.

What the Grasshopper Saw. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens with Kenko 180ยฐ attachment. (c) Chuck Miller, all rights reserved.

Jiminy Crickets…

How about that?ย  Finally got the Kenko 180ยฐ lens to give me an awesome photo.

Only took eight years … ๐Ÿ˜€