Week 5 of the Graney’s Stout Spring Trivia League

There’s a very simple, hard and fast rule about weekly competitive bar trivia games.

No matter how many wins you have, no matter how successful you were last week or last weekend or last night … you can still end up in the middle of the pack today.

Case in point.

I was still on a euphoric high from being on the winning trivia team at the World Tavern Trivia National Championship, and I also had a free pizza coming to me from winning trivia at Graney’s Stout last Wednesday night.

But as this week’s game progressed… my one-man Street Academy team was mired in the middle.  For every super-hard question I was able to correctly identify – the author of Soul on Ice was Eldridge Cleaver, for example – I screwed up on other questions to balance things out.

Case in point.  A question involving the sport where the governing body is FIDO.  I ran up with what I thought was the correct answer – chess.

Well, it ain’t chess.  That’s the governing body of FIDE.

FIDO is actually the governing body for the sport of Dominoes.

If nothing, at least I know that the “quote a possible song lyric, watch it pop up in the blog post” widget works nicely on the new portal. 😀

The final question involved American Rivers.  I had 80 points, and was in sixth place.  I decided that a strategic “safe bet” would work for me.  I bet a big fat zero points.

“What is the westernmost state in which the Ohio River flows?”

I wrote down Hawai’i.  I mean, I bet nothing, I could have written down Maine and I wouldn’t have lost points.

The correct answer, in case you’re wondering, was Illinois.

And although I received eight raffle tickets for my efforts – one ticket for every ten points finished in the game – I didn’t receive playoff points.

Seems that two teams ahead of me – Woo Hoo a Go Go and The Fist – also bet conservatively, and another team ahead of me – Dan 2017 – had the right answer (Illinois), but only bet a few points on their score.  So Street Academy finished in fourth place – no playoff points for the day.

No sweat.  I’ll just take the remaining slices of my “Chuck won last night” pizza home, because everybody knows that pizza tastes better the next day after an overnight stint in the fridge.  ;D

So here’s the new point totals after four weeks of the game.

Week 5 of the Graney’s Stout Spring Trivia League  Starter Points for Final Game
Dan 2017: The Next Generation 8
The Fist 6
Street Academy 6
Woo Hoo a Go Go 5
New Phone, Who Dis? 4
Nacho Punch  3

Five weeks down, seven weeks to go until the final game on June 28.

One thought on “Week 5 of the Graney’s Stout Spring Trivia League”

Comments are closed.