Week 3 of the Graney’s Stout 2017 Spring Trivia League

Little by little, I think I’m getting the hang of this new competitive team trivia format.  It’s not easy … but I’m understanding it.

While the original “Trivia Nights Live” trivia format had 20 questions with varying point levels, along with multiple-answer bonus questions, this new format features a music round (two points to name the artist, two points to name the song), a “huddle round” (five answers to one question, with a possible 25 points on the line), and a difficult movie round (see the still, name the film – a great area for me to dump off my two “skip the answer” options).

And i tried a new strategy this week at trivia – although I have two skips available to me, don’t use them until the final movie round if at all necessary.  Even if I have to guess on a super-hot 10-point question early and miss it, at least that still leaves me the skip option later in the game.

And that happened.  Early on there was a 10-point question, “What 81-year-old musician will release a new album this year called ‘God’s Problem Child’?”  Of course, now I’m thinking of 1950’s rock and rollers that are still alive and functioning today… no, not Chuck Berry, he just passed … maybe it’s Little Richard – I wrote down Little Richard – and found out the answer was Willie Nelson.   Stupid Chuck.

But that left me with a skip that I hadn’t used.  Okay …

And honestly, that proved fortuitous.  In the “huddle” round, I was able to name four of the five states that surround Illinois – well, it kinda helped that my minor league basketball knowledge helped me confirm that Indiana and Iowa were two of the states, based on the proximity to Chicago of the Gary (Indiana) Steelheads of the CBA, and the proximity to Moline, Illinois of the Quad City Thunder, who also represented Davenport, Iowa.  Plus, there was a Premier Basketball League team, the Chicago Muscle, who also played home dates at a place called Wisconsin Dells, so I wrote down Wisconsin and was correct.  The other two were Missouri and Kentucky, in case you’re playing along.

I dreaded the fourth round – the music round – but surprisingly, I was able to nail four of the five tracks, including this ultra-rare track from Canadian rockers April Wine.  Plus, it gives me an excuse to play some April Wine on my blog.

Oh yeah, the final round – the movie round?  That skip came in mighty handy, when an ultra-difficult 10-point image showed up on the screen of two people in homemade superhero garb, sitting around what looked like a cafeteria table.  I was about to write down Kick-Ass or Mystery Men, but neither answer seemed to match the image.  Okay, okay … burn the skip.  Good thing I did … the movie still was from a film called Movie 43, which is apparently one of the biggest turkey-bombs in cinematic history.

Final question.  I’ve got 92 points, and although I’m in sixth place, I’m within striking distance of the leaders – Nacho Punch and Woo Hoo a Go Go have 131 points apiece.

The final “bet your points” category is College Basketball.  And the host chided to one team, “Dan 2017, you’d better get this,” knowing that the Dans had a college basketball trivia expert on their squad.

Time for another strategy for Chuck.  I’ve got 92 points.  If I bet 40 points, I’d finish with 132 and could finish strong – and even if I don’t make the Top 3 and get playoff points, at least I’ll still get 13 raffle tickets (one raffle ticket for every ten points earned).  And if I’m wrong, at least I’ll still walk out of Graney’s Stout with five raffle tickets, so it’s not a complete loss.

“How many NCAA championships has the North Carolina men’s basketball team won?”

Wait … I may know this.  I swear I heard it on ESPN Radio a week or two ago.  I think it’s six championships, including this year.  What the hell … nothing to lose … I scribbled a six on my answer slip and handed it in.

The Dan 2017 team wrote down 7.  Other teams wrote down 6, 5, 4…

And the answer was six championships.

So my one-man Street Academy trivia team finishes with 132 points – thirteen raffle tickets – and even though the winner of the evening was The Fist with 138 points, I finished in a two-way tie with Woo-Hoo a Go Go (who bet only one point – no balls) and we each received two playoff points.  Swank.

So here’s the new point totals after three weeks of the game.

Week 3 of the Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League  Starter Points for Final Game
Dan 2017: The Next Generation 6
New Phone, Who Dis? 4
Street Academy 3
Woo Hoo a Go Go 3
The Fist 3
Nacho Punch
Stern Fans

Three weeks down, nine weeks to go until the final game on June 28.

Leave a Reply

