I killed the damn plants again…

An update on my attempt to grow those skeleton flower plants.

This morning, I thought it would be a good idea to take the plants out of the house and let them get fresh air and water.  I put both pots on the porch sill, and went to the day job.

I came home … and the wind and rain tore the stalks on both plants to shreds.

Damn it.  I failed again.  The plants are ruined.

My only option after this … is that I have three more skeleton flower plants arriving in the mail from a greenery in South Carolina.  I ordered them back in January.  They’re not supposed to be delivered upstate until May.

So what does that mean for me?

Simple.  I won’t be able to get the skeleton flower petals – and photograph them – until 2018 at the earliest.

Damn it, why the hell did I think it was a good idea to take the plants outside today?  Last year when I tried this, they got snowed on and the stalks were destroyed.

But no, I had to think I was a great gardener, I was going to get those skeleton flower petals and they were going to be award-winning plants and everything was going to be successful…

Yeah, right.  I failed.  Damn it.  Why the hell should I have even bothered?  I should have just kept them inside all year.

I’m such an idiot.

And now my only hope is that these three South Carolina plants will arrive safely … and maybe I can get them planted … and maybe they will survive … and maybe they might bloom those translucent white petals in 2018…

Ugh.

I’ll let you know if the South Carolina skeleton flowers arrive safely.  But at this point in time …

I’m not even sure anybody should trust me with PLASTIC plants.

1 thought on “I killed the damn plants again…”

  1. Chuck! You are NOT an idiot! Listen, don’t through the plants away. Just trim the broken stems back, stick the roots back in the soil, and bring it inside to a sunny spot. Give it time. Lots of plants will start again, if you keep the roots from drying out, – but not waterlogged either, and give it some sunlight, they may come back. If you don’t have enough sunlight in your house, put them under a lamp for a while. Don’t give up! They may not blossom in time for your project, but they’re living plants that want to stay alive. Remember the BeeGees’ song! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

