So why should I read Chuck the Writer?

I suppose this is a question you’ll need to ask yourself … but just know that by the fact that you’re reading this post, it’s a good sign that you kinda care about what’s going on with this blog.

As a photographer, I try to capture images that convey a different way of viewing the world.  Whether it’s through high-tech processes with PhotoShop, or lo-fidelity developing tools like processing film with XPRO or Redscale, I try to make old cameras do something new, and I try to make new cameras do something previously undiscovered.

Step and Pivot
Step and Pivot.  AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film.  (c) 2016 Chuck Miller.

For example, here’s an image called Step and Pivot, which I took back in December 2016.  I used an AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3, which is a 1930’s medium-format camera, and fed it with 35mm film.  In order to get the neon shoe to “dance,” shall we say, I mounted the camera on a tripod, then opened the shutter and advanced the film while the shutter remained open.  The movement of the neon shoe was also accentuated by my rotating the camera on the tripod’s axis.

I was actually able to get six tries from this one roll of film – this was the sixth try, because the film ran out before I could get the seventh try made.

This is what I mean when I say I make cameras do what they’re not supposed to do.

Over the years, I’ve taken these pictures, created them, edited them, and then entered them in competitions.  I do this a lot.  It’s part of a self-validation I go through, to make sure that I’m actually making headway in both photography and in my life.

Yes, on occasion I will talk about life – I didn’t grow up with a silver spoon in my mouth; in fact, most times that spoon was used to whack my behind for whatever punishment might have been inflicted upon my sorry self.

But that’s for another blog post.

As I get closer to my “Competition Season,” which involves various entries in state and county photography shows, fairs and carnivals, I’ll blog about the experiences – and, in effect, take you along with me for the ride.  This is where the fun begins.

