Chuck the Writer and the new portal

So it’s time to enter a new chapter of my life.

First of all … welcome.  Nice to meet you.  Pull up a chair.

Who am I?

My name is Chuck Miller, I’m a writer and photographer and blogger from Albany, New York.  My blogs have been a mixture of my life’s overview, my time in the world, and how a guy like me survived all the horrors of life and came out only slightly singed.

This will be my new portal going forward – for the past eight years or so, I’ve blogged consistently for the Albany Times Union, my local paper of record.  Before that, I had a blogspot.com portal, for which I wrote semi-frequently.   I also wrote several columns and articles for various publications, so being a “writer” is almost an extension of my personal soul.

It will take some time to get my bearings here on this wordpress.com plug… but if you bear with me, I think it will all work out in the positives.

So why am I venturing into a new portal and a new avenue?

Many reasons.  But the biggest reason of all is that, for all purposes and extents, it’s time to move on.  The Times Union blog was fun and entertaining and it opened me up to a new audience.  Now it’s time to take that audience on new adventures and new projects.

Now I’m sure someone’s going to say to me, “Chuck, now that you’ve moved onto your own portal, aren’t you worried that the only people who might read these posts are yourself and your three imaginary friends?”

To which I say … nah.  I write for myself.  This is my blog, my personal space, my observations and ruminations.  I’m good with this, believe me.  And no, this is not an April Fool’s Day joke… this will be my new portal and I will write whatever I want, whenever I want, as often or as infrequent as I choose.

So if you all have my Times Union blog on your portal… that’s fine.  But you may want to add this URL to your blogline.

And I know this space is a bit bare boned …

But bear with me.  I just moved in.  The furniture hasn’t all arrived yet.

13 thoughts on “Chuck the Writer and the new portal”

  1. I’m pretty sure I’m real…

    and I’m awaiting more Collarworld!🐶🐱🐭🐹🐰🐯🐻🦁🦅🦉🐴😺
    (You owe me a case of Bounty, by the way)
    Hey! No more “TUSEZNOCURSEWORDS”! 🤣

    Like

  2. Best of luck, Chuck.
    Kudos to you, for taking the high road. I’ve been seething on your behalf since reading Rex Smith’s proclamation.
    He’s obviously comfortable with, or even embraces, the out-and-out profanity, racism and hate spewed by the few all-knowing bloggers that give that TU page a black eye.
    And he boots you, for a good natured obvious prank.
    Thanks for sticking around!

    Like

  3. Glad I found you, Chuck. I was actually worried that something bad had happened to you with your recent foot injury when you weren’t posting on the TU. I haven’t been totally happy with TU’s blog page for quite a while, and basically only visited to read your posts. Good luck in your new (blogosphere) home.

    Like

  4. Chuck…glad you are doing well, had me worried.
    Can you please re post the April Fools day blog.
    Really want to see what all the fuss is about.
    We are all just a little too sensitive.
    If they can’t take a joke, f*ck em.
    I can say that, right?

    THX …

    Like

    1. Hi Mike. Welcome to my blog portal. I’m not going to repost the blog (seeing as it’s April 3 and all), but I can tell you that Rob Madeo’s “Keyboard Krumbs” blog has a screen capture of it… you could try searching at this link.

      Like

      1. WOW…
        After being trashed numerous times by the Smothers Brothers, President Johnson wrote them, “It is part of the price of leadership of this great and free nation to be the target of clever satirists. You have given the gift of laughter to our people. May we never grow so somber or self-important that we fail to appreciate the humor in our lives.”

        Like

  5. CHUCK!!!!!! I had no idea what happened, I am largely off of social media, and even blogging, during Lent. Glad that thanks to Heather and Roger I found you. You are my hero, so I will follow your blog wherever it lives!

    Like

  6. Hi Chuck, I’m here too. It’s a resource site for teachers and parents, for teaching and practicing good listening skills. I post when I have new productive ideas to share.
    I’m enjoying your new post. Welcome, and make yourself at home on WordPress. 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Nippertown!

Comments are closed.