Sunbeams in Winter: or, Return to the Troubled Bridge Over Water

Remember a couple of weeks ago when I drove up to the Adirondacks and retook a picture of a broken bridge in Warrensburg and called it Troubled Bridge Over Water?  Of course you do.

At the time, I mentioned that I had captured the photo with both my digital and film cameras … but at the time, my film hadn’t been developed.

No matter … I figured once the film was developed, I’d be able to write a blog post about it.  That is, if the film turned out blog-post-worthy.

That, and if I could get my Leica M3 camera (“Leica Green”) to become an infrared shooter.

Let me explain.

In an effort to make Leica Green a more versatile shooter, I purchased an infrared filter (R72) that screws onto the camera’s Summicron 50cm lens.  Since the Leica is a rangefinder camera, I can still see my image through the viewfinder and have it focus properly – an SLR or through-the-lens camera, like my Nikon, would force me to try to see through an almost opaque filter for focusing and composition.

So if I can get the shot framed properly with Leica Green … then I can capture the image with minimal adjustments.  My prior experiments last year were muddy at best, and now I’m trying this in the winter.

Yeah.  Trying to photograph sunshine waves in the snow.  Yeah, this makes lots of nonsense.

So here we are at the broken bridge in Warrensburg.  I snapped photos with my BlackBerry PRIV phone camera, then a few shots with my Kodak Stereo camera … and then I gave Leica Green a chance to shine.

And here’s what came out.

Troubled Bridge Over Water, Version 3. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, Kodak HIE film with R72 infrared filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Holy…

I know, I know.  I’ve got three different versions of this broken bridge photo, four if you count the shot I took last fall.  But the good thing is, I can enter this photo in any competition that has a black-and-white category.  And I’ve finally dialed in all the specs and parameters to allow Leica Green to shine as an infrared shooter.

Man oh man I can’t wait for Competition Season 2017 to arrive.

Because maybe … just maybe …

