Bachelor Cooking: Fried Pierogis

First off, if I’m going to do these “Bachelor Cooking” recipes, I should add a searchable category on the blog for them.  So I did.

Now that the housekeeping is out of the way…

One of the good things about bachelor cooking is that if you don’t want to wimp out and get fast food, or make something that ends with the word “helper,” you can often purchase food as part of a church fundraiser or charity sale.  And that’s what I did yesterday.

Let me explain.

The St. Nicholas Orthodox Ukrainian Church in Troy offered a pierogi fundraiser, where one can purchase a dozen pierogis for $8.  Pierogis, if you’re not familiar with them, are cheese and potato-packed dumplings and are fried to deliciousness.  I ordered two dozen pierogis from the church, and figured this should be simple.

Then I looked up recipes on how to make pierogis.  And boy oh boy there were plenty of different recipes.

No matter… when I get the pierogis from the church, I’ll simply ask the best way to prepare them.

And sure enough, as I paid for my two dozen pierogis, I asked, “Now how do you prepare these?  I read one recipe that said I needed to boil the pierogis first …”

“No, you don’t have to boil these,” I was told.  “You can fry them when you get them home, and you can also store the uncooked ones in the freezer until you want them.”

Gotcha.  Now one recipe told me that I should fry the pierogis in two tablespoons of butter and some olive oil –

“No, you need more than that,” I was told.  “At my home, we use at least a full stick of butter.  Butter, not margarine.  And don’t worry about the olive oil.”

Makes sense…

“But the secret ingredient you need is onions,” I was told.  “Fry the onions in the butter until they’re soft and carmelized, and then add your pierogis.  I like them cooked until they’re nice and warm, but my son and my husband like them with a crispy shell.”

All right … let’s do this.

So here’s what I came up with for a full-blown recipe.

  • One dozen pierogis
  • One sweet onion, sliced
  • One stick of salted butter (I used Breakstone)
  • Kosher salt (you should always use Kosher salt in meals)
  • Sour cream

I melted the stick of butter in the frying pan over medium heat, then added the sliced onions and a couple dashes of Kosher salt.  A few minutes later, after the onions had that nice brown carmelization on them … I added some pierogis.

Cook, flip, cook, flip, drizzle some of that melted butter and onion slivers over the pierogis.  I cooked the pierogis until they were nicely browned.

Serve pierogis and onion slivers on plate, add a dollop of sour cream.

And you get this.

Now you tell me …

Doesn’t that look delicious?

Yes it does.

And it tastes as good as it looks.  One bite, and I could feel that hot potato filling warming my mouth and throat.  This is the kind of comfort food that works great for cold winter days.

Now I’m certain that the way I made these pierogis is probably not the way you make pierogis… so if you have tips on how I can adjust my recipe, by all means I’m open to suggestions.

And if you’re interested in ordering pierogis from the St. Nicholas Orthodox Ukrainian Church in Troy, they’re having another bake sale on April 1.  Contact the church to order your pierogis, all proceeds will help benefit the church and the congregation.

And honestly … for my first try, I only made six pierogis.  That just means I have more available for later …

Yummy…

Leave a Reply

