January Motivations

Step and Pivot. AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Step and Pivot. AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Trying to stay motivated while you’re waiting for surgery is brutal.  But I have to persevere.  There’s no other way around it.

Get up in the morning.  Write a blog post.  Then go on with my day.

And it’s tough.  I know that there’s so many issues ahead that I must counter.

But I have to distract myself.  Focus on other things.  And the rest will follow in time.

So through all the negative news I’ve received in 2016… maybe it’s time to get some positive news for 2017.

I received word from Tim Rich, the captain of my Stir Crazy trivia team, that Stir Crazy has qualified for the 2017 World Tavern Trivia championships, again in Atlantic City in the spring.  This is good news.  We came in second place among 40 teams last year.  And there’s an old saying in sports, when it comes to championships, sometimes you have to lose one to eventually win one.  So now we can focus on future goals.  Which will be lots of fun.

I also received word that Trivia Bowl XIII is scheduled for February 4 at Wolf’s 1-11 in Colonie.  Trust me, I don’t care if they have to wheel me into the restaurant on a gurney and haul me out on a body board, there’s no way anyone can stop me and my Street Academy trivia team from going in there and aiming for our third Trivia Bowl championship.

Faith and Frost. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Faith and Frost. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

The picture you see at the top of this blog post?  Yep, I’ve renamed it “Step and Pivot.”  And it, along with the photo at right, “Faith and Frost,” have already been sent to McGreevy Pro Lab as my first two printable entries for Competition Season 2017.  Where will I enter them?  Altamont?  The Big E?  Maybe a place I haven’t won at lately, like the New York State Fair?  Maybe somewhere I haven’t won ever, like Iowa?  I don’t know.  But I have to make this work.  My photos are one of the few things that keep me going.  And a successful start to Competition Season 2017 might be one hell of a medicine.

I’m also keeping an eye out for some of the Capital District’s upcoming art shows.  I’ve submitted my entries to the Photo Center of Troy’s “Best of 2016” show, and am carefully looking through my nature photos for submissions to the Thacher Park Nature Center event.

And in May … well, if you want to see another Chuck Miller solo gallery event … you might want to consider marking down your calendars.  Just a tease…

I also have to make plans for July.  Because if all goes well, I plan to fly to Washington State and visit my son Kris for a few days.  Which should be lots of fun, I haven’t been to the Pacific Northwest in over a decade.

And a week ago, I used a gift certificate that someone gave me in a local Secret Santa exchange to buy a swank 21-pane Queen Anne window at Silver Fox Salvage.  Yep, I’ve got Dream Window construction on my mind.  Big surprise, eh?

Motivations.  For every day I have to think about this surgery, about the recovery, about my health, about my emotional state…

And no matter how many events or prevents by the regents of egregement try to stop me…

I have to keep motivated.  I have to focus on those goals of achievement and happiness.

Giving up stopped being an option years ago.

Getting up is the new option.

Hello 2017.

Give me whatever you can.

I’ve faced 2016.  You can’t be any worse than that.

