Best of our TU Independent Blogs, December 22, 2016: Ten for Thursday

Good morning all.  Are you ready to enjoy the best blogging experiences the Times Union has to offer?  Especially from their independent and community blogging crew, who write about things that are important in this world, whether on a global or a minute scale, and share these thoughts with all of you.

First off, I want to pass along my sincere goodbyes to Bill Dowd, a community blogger who penned the popular “Dowd on Drinks” blog.  He is leaving the TU blog portal, and I wish nothing but the best for him in his future blogging endeavors.  Plus, there’s personal connection – the Dowd family owns a training facility for harness racers, and I wrote about one of their racing studs, Just Vic, a few years ago.  All the best, Bill.

Also, I want to share news of the wonderful time I had last Friday with an intimate blogging get-together.  Several Times Union community bloggers – including Roger Green, Ken Screven, Walter Ayres, Judi England, Aaron Bush and Michael Rivest – all got together to share some holiday cheer and blogging stories and fun.  It was an awesome get-together, and I hope that more blogging meet-ups happen in 2017.

Now, as Casey Kasem would say, “on with the countdown.”

Check out these blog posts this week.  They include:

  1. Gina Peca’s blog, “Is having a happy holiday mandatory?(Read this first.)
  2. Megan Willis’ “Davenport Chronicles” blog, “Veg crock pot comfort & black rice. Hungry man meal fit for carnivores.
  3. Heather Fazio’s blog, “My mother’s protector.
  4. Jaye McBride’s blog, “Visiting my dead mom’s grave.
  5. Rabbi Matt Cutler’s blog, “A couple good old ‘bubbe-meises’ for Hanukkah.
  6. Rob Hoffman in the “Hoffman Files” blog, “Fry me up some Hanukkah.
  7. Lale Davidson’s “Out of the Ordinary” blog, “Why I celebrate Christmas even though I don’t believe in God.
  8. Frank Robinson’s “Rational Optimist” blog, “Lies and voters.
  9. Lyn Miller-Lachmann in the “Waging Peace” blog, “A basket of books.
  10. Lawrence White’s “Field of View” blog, “‘Appalling’ FBI Clinton Warrant.

And now let’s travel to the little red schoolhouse and see how the undergraduate bloggers are doing.

  1. Dylan Rossiter’s blog, “Eighteen down, many more to go.
  2. Sydney Roffman’s blog, “Disney’s ‘Frozen’ is my go-to feel-good movie.
  3. Katie Lembo’s blog, “I can’t believe how bored I am.

If you enjoy these independent and community blogs, by all means let the writers know.  That’s why blogs have comment sections.

And have a great day, everybody!

