Bachelor Cooking: Roasted Vegetables for One

In an effort to make some major health changes in my diet, I’ve been looking at recipes for various delicacies.  And in my searches, I came across a recipe for roasted vegetables, as offered by someone called the Pioneer Woman.  Never heard of her before, but many of my Facebook friends swear by her recipes, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

Her recipe for roasted vegetables was mixed with dozens of high-quality photographs and lots of patois (add garlic for “majah flavah,” butternut squash “makes my skirt fly up in a major way”).  This should be easy.  I can chop up these vegetables, roast them, and I’ll have a nice garnish for a meal.

Unfortunately, what I didn’t realize was that the Pioneer Woman’s recipes are designed to serve an entire pioneer family, not just one bachelor.  Yeah, Chuck, you can’t watch one episode of The Joy of Painting and think that you’ve become Bob Ross, no more than you can watch an old episode of Pimp My Ride and fill out a job application for West Coast Customs.

So I have to “Chuck-i-fy” her recipe to suit me.  Yep, Chuck’s talking about cooking food.   I’m sure Steve Barnes would be impressed – then again, Steve Barnes has never heard of me, so it’s a moot point. 😀

Ingredients for Chuck’s Roasted Vegetables.

  • One rubber-banded batch of asparagus
  • One bell pepper (green or red or yellow)
  • 8 oz of mushrooms, diced
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Minced garlic, about three or four pinches
  • Kosher salt

Take about five or six asparagus stalks from the rubber banded batch.  Slice each asparagus plant into three sections.  Remove top and bottom of bell pepper, discard center, dice the remainder.  Slice up mushrooms – or just do what I did, buy them pre-sliced at Market 32.  I told you, it’s bachelor cooking.  Go call Gordon Ramsay if you want something high-end.

Pour all diced and sliced ingredients into mixing bowl.  Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil.  Add some pinches of minced garlic.  Again, Market 32 has the garlic already pre-minced, no muss, no fuss.  It’s not going to taste any different if you mince the garlic yourself.

Spread the mixture onto a cooking sheet.  Shake Kosher salt over the mixture.  Insert in the oven at 450° for 20 minutes, mixing the vegetables every ten minutes to make sure they’re spread and aerated on the sheet.

Scoop onto plate and serve.

Bachelor Roasted Vegetables.
Bachelor Roasted Vegetables.

Now don’t that look tasty?

Some of you are probably reading this blog and going, “Oh guh-reat, Chuck’s turning this blog into a foodie blog.  How original.  Whoop dee doo.”

No, I’m not turning this blog into a foodie blog.  But what I am doing is trying to show how single men can still survive in this day and age, whether it’s with cooking, laundry, shopping, or anything.

Trust me, it’s not easy.

But I’ve learned over the years that in all respects, the only person you can ever count on in this world is yourself.

You have to look out for #1, without letting people treat you like #2.

4 thoughts on “Bachelor Cooking: Roasted Vegetables for One”

  1. I wouldn’t buy pre-sliced mushroom because they decay faster but I guess if they look ok and you’re using them that day, no big. But the jarred, minced garlic? Disgusting. Bachelor or no, you need to have more self-respect than that.

    Like

  2. Ree Drummond – The Pioneer Woman has a bunch of great recipes. She and her family eat like real people so most of her food is very yummy. Good luck with all your cooking Chuck. The veggie look great. Roasted is always the best way to go, really brings out the flavors.

    Like

Comments are closed.