K-Chuck Radio: Uplifting music for troubled souls

As you may know, lately my spirit and motivation have been lower than the bottom of a muddy tire tread.  And it was suggested by my blog buddy Roger Green that I should find some happy music to listen to – you know, songs that make me smile.  Singalong material, if you will.  Audiophonic energy.

Okay.  I’m game with that.  And while I’m listening … I can turn the tracklist into a K-Chuck Radio bloglist, too.

Starting with …

UTOPIA
Feet Don’t Fail Me Now

Music genius Todd Rundgren and his band Utopia certainly have a wry sense of humor.  They can take this cool power-pop song and make a music video where they’re dressed up as cockroaches and centipedes.  Yeah, I don’t see Jay-Z ever doing this…

ROGER GLOVER AND FRIENDS
Love Is All

I used to see this clip all the time on the USA Network’s Night Flight overnight video show.  Took a few years to figure out the title of the song (it wasn’t “Butterfly Ball”) and who was singing the song (apparently the guitar-playing frog’s name is Roger Glover).

RAY STEVENS
Misty

I could have listed any one of a dozen Ray Stevens comedy songs.  But this is probably his most brilliant idea – turning the Errol Gardner classic into a bluegrass / honky tonk interpretation.  Awesome.    Seriously awesome.

CLAIRE LYNCH AND THE FRONT PORCH STRINGS
Wabash Cannonball

Now this is cool.  A complete bluegrass / fusion cover of the old country and western track.  This is kind of the stuff I need to pick u my spirits.  Don’tcha think?

DOC AND CHICKIE WILLIAMS
Polka Dots and Polka Dreams

I think we need a little polka music.  At least something peppy and energetic, don’t cha think?  Hey look, I could either play this or the Jimmy Sturr Band, be thankful I went with this track.

BLOTTO
I Wanna Be A Lifeguard

It’s silly, it’s surfy, it’s a great singalong song and it makes me feel happy just listening to it again and again and again and again…

GRANDMASTER FLASH AND THE FURIOUS FIVE
Superrappin’

This is what I listened to in high school.  And I enjoyed every single lyric of it.  And I still enjoy it today.  And if you have an issue with my enjoyment of  Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, go stand in a corner and confess your failings.

LOGAN WHITEHURST AND THE JUNIOR SCIENCE CLUB
The Robot Cat

Probably one of the best nerdrock songs of the past couple of decades.  Plus, it’s a cool little track in and of itself.  When I say Ro, you say Bot… Ro… Bot…

STAN BUSH
The Touch

And here we have the quintessential hair-rock power-ballad anthem of the 1980’s.  And it was the love theme from the animated Transformers movie, so yeah it has that as well.

Okay.  This helps me get through the day.

How about you?

2 thoughts on “K-Chuck Radio: Uplifting music for troubled souls”

Comments are closed.