You always remember your President’s first move…

This morning I woke up and discovered that we’re now headed for a Trump presidency.  And I thought the side effects of my new pain medicines couldn’t make me any more nauseous.

With that in mind, I’d like to bring up a thought.

In my lifetime, I’ve experienced Presidential administrations going all the way back to Lyndon Johnson.  Okay, I was three months old when Johnson was sworn in, but still… In those first 100 days in office, Presidents are often remembered – or vilified – for their initial actions.  Their first laws.  Their first deeds.  Their first demands.

And sometimes, those “firsts” have involved me directly.

When Ronald Reagan took office in 1981, I was still in high school and had an afterschool job with the State.  Mostly I worked in one of the state mail centers, doing grunt work and making minimum wage as part of a program called CEATA or SEATA or something, my memory is faulty.  But one of Reagan’s first acts as President was to eliminate the SEATA program, which essentially phased out my afterschool job.  Grr.

When Barack Obama took office in 2009, I was dealing with sneaky credit card companies who, when the credit crash of 2008 commenced, had jacked up my interest rates and lowered my available credit all at once, and added administrative fees just because they could.  Obama’s plan actually restricted credit card companies from this type of usurious punishment, and gave us common people a chance to actually breathe and rebuild our credit.  These are things we need to do.

I’ve heard all the grandiose plans President Trump has for the future – a wall across the USA-Mexico border, deportation of Muslims, relocating the Oval Office to Mar-A-Lago – but through all this horrible, odious campaign that may have set our political plans back centuries – I hope that in his first 100 days in office, our new President can get past all this filthy rhetoric and show some common sense and decency in his first weeks in office.

He has to.  Whether we like the results of the election or we don’t like the results of the election, we have to believe in the electoral process and what it entails.

Somehow, after all this, we need to find a way to heal.

I have a feeling, however, that I’ll have a quicker recovery from my broken foot than the country will from last night’s election results.

1 thought on “You always remember your President’s first move…”

Comments are closed.