The best Halloween costume ever is worn by my son Kris

When you’re a single parent, many times the things that you do will immediately reflect on your kid.  Trust me.  You start watching a certain TV show, and eventually your kid will become hooked on that show.  You start listening to a certain band, and eventually that kid will have a Spotify channel devoted to that band.

Case in point.

Last night I was at a going-away party for one of my Facebook friends, and during the night I received a text message from my son Kris.  Apparently he wanted to show off his Halloween costume to me.

Great.  Can’t imagine what it might be.  Donald Trump, Hillary Clinton, that baseball bat guy from the Walking Dead…

Nope.  See for yourself.

1029161629_hdrThat’s right.  You’re looking at my son Kris, who is dressed up as silent screen legend Charlie Chaplin.

How freakin’ cool is that?

See, back in the day I used to have a collection of Chaplin VHS movies – City Lights, The Gold Rush, The Kid, The Circus, Modern Times, The Great Dictator.  That, and Buster Keaton’s The General and Harold Lloyd’s Safety Last and Speedy.  And we used to watch these films together.  They were easy for a young child to grasp, in that most of the action on the screen was physical, and the intertitles could be read out loud.

So yeah, Kris developed an affinity for silent cinema.

And over time, you don’t really realize the influence you can have on a child.  You hope that when you’re trying to hold down a job and take care of a household and all of that, that you don’t put something in the growing mix that could turn your kid into something less desirable.  It’s part of the goal of being a parent.  It’s almost like the Boy Scout camping mantra.  Leave the campsite in a better condition than you found it.

snapchat-1816888242396189278So yeah, my kid is trick-or-treating in Washington State as one of the legends of silent cinema.  And that’s cool in and of itself.

How freakin’ cool is that?

Freakin’ cool in about a hundred different ways.

Happy Halloween, everybody…

1 thought on “The best Halloween costume ever is worn by my son Kris”

Comments are closed.