Week 2 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Fall Trivia League

No, you didn’t miss an update.  I didn’t think my schedule would allow me to recap the entire twelve-week trivia tournament, so I didn’t bother to recap Game 1.

And when I arrived at Graney’s Stout, I had players from at least three different trivia teams say to me, “Where was the blog last week?  What are our standings?  Come on, Chuck, do your job.”

Ha.  Funny.  Okay, okay, so I’m back on the trivia beat.  And for all you trivia players at Graney’s Stout who want these recaps … howzabout a little chatter in the comment section?  Talk some talk, chat it up.  Help a brother out.

Yes, this is Week 2 of the 12-week Graney’s Stout Fall Trivia League.  And you haven’t missed much – Team Squirtle rebranded themselves as New Phone, Who Dat?, and there were a couple of new teams in the mix this week; whether they stay is another matter entirely.

And of course, there was a question relating to a certain person who was surreptitiously recorded on an Access Hollywood bus from 2005.  No, not THAT person.  “What short-lived prime time game show revival was hosted by Billy Bush for a few weeks?”

No clue.  I skipped it.  Two teams got it right, though.

I wonder if this show might have received some sponsorship from Tic Tac.  Ha.

The final question of the night was in the category of Reality TV.  I had 94 points, and was essentially holding on to some cumulative points.  I bet a few, not many.

“American Idol was on the air for how many seasons?”

Okay.  I know it started in 2002.  But did it end in 2015 or 2016?  Then again, I stopped watching it a few years before that.  I tried to figure it out, came up with 14 seasons, and handed in my slip.

A few other teams said 14, some said 16, some said 15.

The answer – 15 seasons.  And the team that won for the night was a squad called Team Petunia.

Who?

Team Petunia.

Again … who?

Oh never mind…

So anyways, here’s the leader board.  The top four teams will receive money at the end of the tournament, so hopefully your team did well this week.

  1. The Fist – 222 points
  2. Team Petunia – 200 points
  3. New Phone, Who Dat? – 188 points
  4. Dan 2016: From Russia With Dan – 165 points
  5. Street Academy – 110 points
  6. Woo hoo a Go Go – 100 points
  7. Stern Fans – 76 points
  8. Al’s Pals – 40 points
  9. Miguel Hunt – 23 points
  10. Nacho Punch – 00 points

Two weeks down, ten weeks to go.

3 thoughts on “Week 2 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Fall Trivia League”

  1. Hey, Chuck, how about including more recaps of the questions asked in these posts? I don’t mean all of them or anything, I admit that’s a bit much to ask, but half a dozen more memorable ones would be nice. I like to see how well I might have done. I mean, usually they just serve to remind me why I avoid Trivia Nights Live, but still.

    Like

  2. Nice recap Chuck! I agree more question reviews.

    The rebranded team is “New Phone, Who Dis?” It’s a reference from FXX’s “You’re the Worst” television show. Obsecure, but more relevant than Pokemon, ha.

    Like

Comments are closed.