Raskolnikov’s take on the Boreas Ponds

I’m still feeling the tightness in my hamstrings, and maybe it’s because I’m completely out of shape.  That happens.  I wasn’t built for speed.

And when I traveled to the Boreas Ponds Tract last Monday, I over-estimated how much hiking was necessary to get from the parking lot to the destination – and from the destination, back to the car.

With that in mind, however, I did get some amazing photos of the Boreas Ponds and of the Adirondack High Peaks in the distance.

I used two digital cameras – my Nikon Df and my BlackBerry PRIV cameraphone – and those photos turned out really well.

Today, I scanned and cleaned up the film exposures from my third shooter – my Krasnogorsk ФT-2 super-ultrawide camera, the shooter with the nickname “Raskolnikov.”

And of all the shots I took of the Boreas Ponds and the LaBier Flow and other Adirondacks-based fall foliage photos…

This photo of the Boreas Ponds caught me.

Boreas Ponds 3.  Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Boreas Ponds 3. Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Smooth.

So I have three different exposures of the Boreas Ponds, one from each camera.  And we know that after Competition Season 2016 wasn’t my best, I feel like I have something going strong for next year.

The Boreas Ponds.  Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Boreas Ponds. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I have this photo that I can enter in standard-sized contests, where I’m limited to one exposure and a specific image size.

Boreas Ponds 2.  BlackBerry PRIV camera phone.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Boreas Ponds 2. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

And with my BlackBerry, I can enter this ultrawide in any panorama competitions.  That’s a nice “stitch job.”  And Raskolnikov put together a helluva photo as well.  Three good images … three different available possibilities.

And even if I go back to the Boreas Ponds – albeit with lots of training, so that I don’t end up in traction after a four-hour hike – even if I get better pictures than these …

These are pretty damn good pictures in and of themselves.  Confidence builders, they are.

And “confidence builders” are nice things to have.

One thought on “Raskolnikov’s take on the Boreas Ponds”

Comments are closed.