Just received word from BUILT 2016…

So how about some good news?

Yeah.  Good news would certainly be good news.

I just heard from Historic Albany Foundation that my three submitted artworks have been accepted into the annual art auction and charity event, BUILT: Albany’s Architecture Through Artists’ Eyes.  And this year, in partnership with the Breathing Lights art project, BUILT will feature artwork and imagery inspired by the architecture of Albany, as well as of Troy and Schenectady.

Of the three pieces I submitted to BUILT, two of them are of Capital District architectural structures that no longer exist today; and the third submission is of a Capital District architectural structure that might fall down as we speak.  All three of my artworks, as well as the art of over a hundred different Capital Region artisans, are available for bid and/or purchase on November 5, 2016, from 7:00 to 10:00 p.m. at the New York State Museum.

And my three entries are:

COCA-COLA 2015

Coca-Cola 2015.  Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Coca-Cola 2015. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I took this picture of the Schenectady appliance store / apartment building in 2015.  It was already scheduled for demolition, and a few days after I captured this image, the landowners razed the building.  I’m glad that BUILT expanded their “call for art” to include images taken in Schenectady, which allows me to submit this piece to the show.

THE PEW OF HOLY INNOCENTS

The Pew of Holy Innocents.  Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Pew of Holy Innocents. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

The only one of the three submissions in which the original structure still exists today, this was essentially one of the few times I mustered enough courage to sneak into a condemned building and take some pictures inside.  I don’t dare go in the building today; one good sneeze and the while structure will collapse into rubble.

DREAM WINDOW 18: FRIDAY NIGHT FISH FRY

I’ve submitted several Dream Windows to BUILT, and I’m pleased that my electrified tribute to Bob & Ron’s Fish Fry sign, Dream Window 17: Friday Night Fish Fry, will have a chance to be sold at BUILT.  This is way cool.

So yeah, I’m looking forward to seeing the great art that my fellow Capital District artists have created for BUILT, and I’m also hoping that these three pieces can find new homes.

Again… very cool.

 

1 thought on “Just received word from BUILT 2016…”

Comments are closed.