Braking for beauty

Yesterday, I took some time to photograph the Adirondacks.  Nothing major, just a little drive through various locations that I’ve photographed in the past, hoping to capture them as the foliage changes.

Yes, I’m a sucker for foliage.  But I’m also a sucker for “tiny beauty.”  You know, that moment when you’ve photographed something big and sweeping and grand…

Spanning the Sacandaga River. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Spanning the Sacandaga River. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

And right by your feet is a tiny little flower, capturing your attention and begging, “Take my picture, too, please, mister, huh, please?”

Tiny beauty. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Tiny beauty. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Breathtaking vistas and stunning vantage points.  Now, I’m not looking to be a 46er and climb all the high peaks – but I am considering some trips into the mountains in the next few weeks and months.

Essentially, these would be journeys of reflection, of centering myself and understanding where I am in the homestretch of my life.

These are journeys that allow me to understand the pathway paved by those who have gone to glory.  These will allow me to find answers in my life.  Answers to questions I have not even asked.

I started these journeys last week when I visited Warrensburg and took a few nature shots.  And it felt so good just to get in the car and drive to a spot I’ve never visited, and find something I’ve never seen before.  These are the journeys for myself.  This is the nature I haven’t previously experienced.

We all need journeys like this in our world.  We all need some ability to disconnect ourselves from the rat race, from the stress of the everyday world, from the struggles of our travails.

Marking the rings. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Marking the rings. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I need these moments.  There is no other reason or means that will convince me otherwise.

I’ll find the big, sweeping vistas.  And I’ll find the tiny, impulsive moments.

And inbetween the vistas and the moments…

I will truly find peace.

So if you happen to see some photos from the Adirondacks or the Berkshires or the Pine Bush or some other unsettled locale…

Understand that these are moments in which I have found tranquility…

More tranquility than I can normally experience…

Yet just enough tranquility that I can share it with all of you.

Even tiny moments like that little wildflower at the top of my blog.

 

2 thoughts on “Braking for beauty”

  1. Chuck – A very nice photo. In the winter when the leaves are off the trees I can see this trestle from my upstairs window.

    Last year (or the year before) you took another beautiful shot of the trestle. I recall it was with a special lens. I dropped either you or the editor an e-mail at the time asking if our Historical Society in Hadley-Luzerne could put your photo of the trestle on display. Since there was no response I don’t think you got the e-mail. I’m the Curator for the Historical Society. The bridge near the trestle is kind of special too.

    Like

Comments are closed.