The return of the Nikon Df

For the past couple of months, my beloved Nikon Df camera was on the sideline, recovering from a broken shutter blade.  And while I was still able to take pictures with my film cameras, I needed my Df back.  I just do.  It’s like driving a rental car when your personal whip is in the repair shop.  Oh yeah… I remember that.

Anyway, my camera came back last week, with its new Chinese-crafted shutter housing.  And I wanted to test the camera out… I really did…

Yesterday, I woke up, grabbed the Df, and drove to the Adirondacks.  I didn’t know where my final destination would be, only that I would drive as far as I wanted, and would see where the road would take me.

It took me to Warrensburg.  Apparently there were two things going on in Warrensburg this weekend – a big town-wide garage sale, and a blanket of fog over the nearby mountains.  If I could get to the top of those mountains somehow… but I could not find any access roads to the mountain.  Oh well, maybe this side road – no, the bridge on that side road is about to collapse.  Maybe a little further down the road –

STOP, CHUCK, STOP!!!

That bridge along that side road was about to collapse.  Turn the car around and get a photo of it, Miller!!

Okay.  A quick look at the settings.  Had to switch it back to manual settings.  Slap on the Vivitar 19mm f/3.8.

Get this shot, Chuck.  Don’t miss it.

Troubled Bridge Over Water. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Troubled Bridge Over Water. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Smooth.  If the foliage had just turned sooner… that would be perfect.

I drove a little further through Warrensburg, just looking for something worth photographing.  Something that would catch my eye.  Drove for a few miles, then turned around.  And as I rounded a corner, I saw what looked like an old house… with a few, shall we say, welcoming messages.

Welcome. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Welcome. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

You can click on the picture for a larger image, so that you can easily read such phrases as “Thou Shalt Not Covet,” “Thou Shalt Not Steal,” “Beware of Vandal,” “Stealing Ain’t Cheap,” and “As Ye Sew, So Shall Ye Reap.”

Well, I didn’t see a sign that said “Thou Shalt Not Take a Graven Image Of Ye Olde Building,” so yeah I snapped a few shots.

On the way back, I drove past some place called Schoon River Campground.  Maybe if it’s a campground near the Schroon River, I might be able to get some nice “reflective fall foliage” shots.  A quick stop, a request for permission to access the Schroon River (permission granted), and off I went.

Hmm… There’s a few spots here and there, the foliage hasn’t completely changed yet, but ooh here’s a funky looking tree branch.  I’ll shoot this in black and white.

The Branch. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Branch. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Man, I’m so glad this camera is back in my arsenal.  It felt like I was buck naked without it.

Hey, maybe if I step on this mossy part of the shore, I can get a better shot of this tree branch.

Right foot.  Hmm… ground feels kinda squishy.  No big deal.

Left foot.  Hmm… ground feels kinda sticky.  Ahh, this is nothing to worry about.

Right foot.  And what I thought was a mossy shoreline was actually a soupy mud bog.  And I discovered this the second my leg sank into the mud, all the way to my kneecap.

Okay, that’s a warning.  Time to turn around – one step further, and my left leg sank into the mud.  Again, all the way up to my kneecap.

Deep breath.  You can get out of this.  Remember your Boy Scout training, Miller.

Hmm… My Boy Scout training consisted of going from campground to campground, asking the other troops if they had any left-handed screwdrivers or cans of striped paint.

Don’t worry, though.  I was able to wiggle my way out of the mud and made it home safely.  The driver’s side floorboards in my car will need a detailing, and those jeans have enough mud on them to open a day spa.

Honestly, if that was the worst thing that happened, I’m okay with it.  As far as I’m concerned, the best thing that happened was that my Nikon Df camera and I are back together.

And if these pictures I took on Sunday aren’t “competition season” worthy…

At least they’re a start.  A muddy start, but a start nonetheless.

 

1 thought on “The return of the Nikon Df”

Comments are closed.