My “Describe yourself in three fictional characters” are…

There is a new Facebook feature floating around, in which Facebook members post photos of three fictional characters to describe themselves.  Aside from the fact that most of my female Facebook friends who participated in this program chose Daria as one of their fictional characters … wow, I never realized Daria was so popular…

I decided, heck I’ll play along as well.

So I posted this graphic on my Facebook page.

3characters

I think these are pretty good choices, especially if I boil all my fictional choices down to three selections.

The person at the upper right?  Max Headroom, the disembodied digital “talking head” that became part of our 1980’s cultural zeitgeist.  For me, Max Headroom represents the voice created out of circumstance (in his origin story, Max Headroom was the digitized essence of an injured newspaper reporter, an essence that became sentient and snarky), and he also represents, for me, free will and free thought – a chance to criticize the establishment without being silenced.

The person at the lower right?  He’s the “narrator” for the Twilight Zone.  Yes, it’s Rod Serling, and yes, Rod Serling was a real person, but for these purposes I’m referring to him as the overseeing narrator.  I could have used Uatu the Watcher in the same instance, but the Twilight Zone represented, for me, the pinnacle of 1960’s science fiction and fantasy.  It built my appreciation for deep, distinct, derivative and dedicated fiction, and you could tell that every word on that show, every sentence, every nuance, was carefully and meticulously crafted for maximum effect and efficiency.

And the young man at lower left?  When I first met him, I knew him as Derek Wildstar, the crack pilot and leader of the Star Force on the 1970’s anime series Star Blazers.  I would later know him as Susumu Kodai, the battle chief on the flying space ship Space Battleship Yamato.  For me, Wildstar was the young man that was pressed into a leadership role – a role he was not prepared for, nor did he initially want.  He accepts his role out of duty, and then later evolves into a trusted and respected leader and champion.  Sometimes in my life, I’ve been pressed into roles that were initially uncomfortable or unexpected … but over time, I did my best, I minimized my mistakes and built up toward success and accomplishment.

Granted, I could have added about fifteen more “fictional characters” to this list – but these three are a good starting point if you were to use fictional characters to describe me.

These seem to work well.

Who are your three fictional characters that best describe you?  Tell me in the comment section below.

1 thought on “My “Describe yourself in three fictional characters” are…”

Comments are closed.