Dropping off for the PhotoCenter’s “Members’ Show…”

The 2016 “Members’ Show” for the PhotoCenter of the Capital District is coming soon, and I submitted four entries for this year’s event.

The nice thing about the PhotoCenter’s show is that it brings some of the Capital District’s best photographers together and allows them to display their best works in one centralized location.  And opening night is Friday, September 30, as part of the monthly Troy Night Out event.

And although one of my entries – The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad – was not accepted, my other three submissions were indeed chosen for the show.

Accepted entries were…

NIAGARA 1970 1995 2016

Niagara 1970 1995 2016. AGFA Chief camera, Kodak Verichrome Pan 70mm film (expiry 1970), Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film (expiry 1995). Photo by Chuck Miller.
Niagara 1970 1995 2016. AGFA Chief camera, Kodak Verichrome Pan 70mm film (expiry 1970), Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film (expiry 1995). Photo by Chuck Miller.

Apparently my “mad scientist” experiment with Kodak Instamatic film and vintage Kodak Verichrome Pan film impressed the judges, as it has been accepted into the PhotoCenter’s gallery show.  Although this picture didn’t do as well as I had hoped this season, I am pleased that it did finish with a showing at the gallery… just sayin’ is all… 😀

THE HEAVENS ABOVE, THE FOREST BELOW

The Heavens Above, The Forest Below. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Heavens Above, The Forest Below. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yes indeed, my shot of the Essex County treeline silhouetting the Galactic Core of the Milky Way – which has been one of the few bright spots in Competition Season 2016 – will be on display at the PhotoCenter during the members’ show.  Of the photos I took this year, this one has done quite well for itself; it picked up an Honorable Mention at Altamont, and on Saturday I’ll drive to New England and see how this picture did at both the Big E and at the Durham Fair.

And…

Surprisingly…

THE SWITCHBACK

The Switchback. Krasknogorsk FT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film (three strips). Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Switchback. Krasknogorsk FT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film (three strips). Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yes, it’s the photo I took a few weeks ago, the one with Kodak Ektar print film in my Krasnogorsk FT-2 “Raskolnikov” ultrawide camera.  I submitted it at the last minute to replace another print, and the judges asked for it to be included in the show.

Nice like pumpkin spice and beans with rice.

So yeah, if The Switchback gets some positive vibes from the attendees, then I may consider it for Competition Season 2017.

Trust me.  After the way Competition Season 2016 is panning out … I need some positive vibes here.

As I said before, you can see these artworks – and the photographs of many of the Capital Region’s best photographers – at the PhotoCenter of the Capital District, on River Street in Troy, beginning September 30 as part of Troy Night Out.

Which reminds me… I need to drop these things off today.

One thought on “Dropping off for the PhotoCenter’s “Members’ Show…””

Comments are closed.