Testing Verizon’s grandfathered “unlimited data” policy

verizonfailI’ve always felt that one of the most fortunate moments of my being a Verizon cell phone customer was when, at one moment in time, they offered an unlimited data package for those of us who were longtime Verizon customers and were no longer on two-year contracts.  I was grandfathered into the plan, and was immediately notified that, yes indeed, I would be locked into the unlimited data plan, so long as I purchased my cell phone outright, and that I didn’t enter into a new contract of any sort.

Woo hoo.

And for the past five years, I’ve heard rumors about Verizon trying everything to convince those who were fortunate enough to have the unlimited data package to give it up for the promise of lower rates – only to discover that the rates will skyrocket based on data limits in new contracts.  No no, not me.  I’m staying with the unlimited data plan, thank you very much.

So now I’ve got this big beautiful BlackBerry PRIV cell phone, and yesterday I was watching the Discovery Channel when I saw they were offering a cell phone app called Discovery GO.  No, you’re not walking around the neighborhood, using your cell phone to find and capture the F/V Northwestern or the latest Gas Monkey Garage restoration.  The Discovery GO channel actually allows you to watch your favorite Discovery Channel shows on your cell phone.  Okay.  Downloaded.  Installed.

And while I was downloading it, I discovered that there’s also a channel for the Investigation Discovery channel, called ID GO.  No, you’re not walking around the neighborhood, using your cell phone to try and capture Lt. Joe Kenda.  My, my, my…  No, the ID GO channel also allows you to watch your favorite Investigation Discovery channel shows, which for me include programs with such low-key titles as Scorned: Love Kills, Wives With Knives, Homicide Hunter: Lt. Joe Kenda, and Deadly Women (which for some reason has a fascination with Albany-based murder cases).

Yesterday, I tested the online apps out.  I watched the premiere episode of Deadliest Catch: Dungeon Cove (really intense show) and two episodes of Scorned: Love Kills.  That’s three hours of broadcast, plus maybe half an hour of commercials.

This morning, my BlackBerry PRIV notified me that I may have exceeded what it perceived as a data cap.  Now before anyone panics, this was the phone itself having an arbitrary data cap warning, which is not out of the ordinary.

So with about two weeks left in my billing cycle, if I didn’t have that unlimited data plan, I’d be freaking out at the possibility of seeing a phone bill with a ginormous AMOUNT DUE notice.

Still, it does give me a bit of pause.  What if I didn’t have the unlimited data plan?  I could get screwed by watching three hour-long dramas and suddenly I’m in an overage situation?

Urgh.

Trust me.  I know full well that big business will try ANYTHING to squeeze money out of Joe Consumer.  You know how all those “As Seen on TV” shows make extra profits on their mail-order products?  Watch as each one of them says, “And we’ll send you an additional whatchamadingle free! Just pay separate shipping and handling.”  Yeah, that separate “shipping and handling” is just straight sugar profit for those companies.  Nice trick.  Sneaky sunovas.

It’s the same thing where Time Warner Cable promises a low entry subscription for their cable service, only to trap you into higher rates one year later.  Companies do this.  It’s as common as sunrises.

So yeah, I’m holding on to this unlimited data plan for as long as ever.  For as long as I can.

And maybe if I can find the right app for this…

I wonder if I can download Netflix for this phone.

Can I get through an entire season of one of the Marvel shows before my BlackBerry’s battery dies out?

Now that would be a different type of “data cap,” wouldn’t it?

10 thoughts on “Testing Verizon’s grandfathered “unlimited data” policy”

  1. Be careful you don’t break the 100GB ceiling watching all those show’s. That could get you automatically booted from the unlimited plan.
    I believe that 100GB ceiling kicked in on August 31. If your not aware of it, you might want to check it out.

    Like

  2. Streaming data over a cellphone network is expensive for the provider, too. As devices proliferate, and HD content becomes a greater expectarion, who do you espect to pay for the equipment that meets bandwidth requirements? Open all the faucets in your house for a few hours each day and see what happens to your water bill.

    Personally, the thought of watching TV programs and movies on a puny cellphone causes instant eyestrain.

    Like

  3. Even though we have had the unlimited data plan grandfathered in as well, I am still a touch apprehensive that the data on the relatively new phone that my wife has has shot up to 85 GB and so far this month 65 GB despite no difference in our data habits, where she was averaging between 36 and 45 GB at most. Makes me wonder what tricks are being used or prepared.

    Like

    1. Check the new phone to see if there are Apps on the phone that use data. A lot of your apps that are location based will use data just because the app wants to know your location at all times. I turn off my GPS for this reason that the apps were killing my battery life. Ex: weather apps. There are also some apps that run all the time in the background that use GPS as well.

      Like

  4. I use very ltitle data because I have wifi at home and the only data I use is at work. Just can’t see streaming movies on a phone when I CA stream them to my chromcast.

    Like

  5. The central issue aside, Joe Kenda is one of our favorite guilty pleasures. When the show was first in development, Kenda put his foot down and agreed to do the show only if he could do it completely unscripted. Let me say that again… unscripted! This is completely unheard of in the teleprompter world of 21st century television. I can only imagine the look of shock on producers’ faces when he made that stipulation. “You want to WHAT?!” There are few greater off-the-cuff speakers. That, combined with a photographic memory for each of the nearly 400 cases he’s solved, makes the program very compelling. Investigation Discovery has already tried to clone the Kenda formula to ride the coat-tails of their most successful show, but no one else is willing to work off the top of their head, so they end up a complete yawn (as is most television these days) by comparison. We never miss a new episode.

    Like

  6. Why would you do this? This is idiotic to run so much data when you can use your wifi. You are ruining it for all of us who are grandfathered in. Your idiotic use of data will make VZW come up with something to end it for all of us. Why in the world download so much on LTE when you can use WIFI. you’re ruining it for everyone moron.

    Like

  7. Yes, I am still also among the few holding on to my unlimited data plan with Verizon, despite their many attempts to shake me loose. And yes, the Netflix app downloaded on your phone is the greatest, with no worry about data use. You can also go in your settings and choose to play the Netflix movies or shows on HD, without having to worry about the extra data use.

    Like

Comments are closed.