Best of our TU Independent Blogs, September 15, 2016: Ten for Thursday

I received a message from Times Union blogger and author of The Opposite of Everything, David Kalish, yesterday.  He was tailoring his blog post, and wanted to know when I would be posting this week’s wrap-up of the weekly excellence of our independent and community  bloggers.

I told him that I usually write the blog post on Thursday morning, just after I wake up.

He told me he would try to get his blog post written in time to have it included in this week’s listings.

Last night, he sent another message to me.

‘I’m behind schedule and can’t predict my ETA. So don’t worry about including me. Sorry to make you get up early.”

I can live.  It’s not the end of the world.

My original plan was to post as many of the Times Union’s community and independent bloggers as I could, and then add David’s when he was finished.  Look, we already know that David’s blog is worth reading every week.  Right?

But then, fate conspired to kick me in the teeth.

I posted the blog… and everything looked fine.

A few moments later, I received word that the second half of the blog post had mysteriously vanished.  All the links were gone.  All the text was gone.

Crud.  Now David’s going to think that I clowned him.  And that’s not the case.  I got hit with a technical glitch.  A WordPress gremlin.  You guys gotta understand, I take these blog posts seriously.  I know that you read my blog all the time, and maybe you like some parts of the blog more than others, but you know that I put a lot of effort into these posts.

And no matter why there’s a glitch or a screwup on the post… it’s my responsibility.  Yeah, I can’t predict blog glitches, but when they happen, I should be prepared for them.  And I wasn’t.  And I let you down.  And I’m sorry.

And by the time I actually could get back to re-posting and re-linking all the entries this week…

David finished his post.

So here we go.  Blog posts at the ready?

  1. Don Rittner’s blog, “Don’t judge a book by its cover (or a building by its facade)!” (read this first)
  2. Heather Fazio in the books blog, “This situation is in my top five nightmares.
  3. Chad A. Burdette in the comic books blog, “When comic books predict tragedies.
  4. David Kalish’s “Ruminator” blog, “Famous quotes from … yours truly.
  5. Jaye McBride’s blog, “Dancing with the, uh stars?”
  6. Lale Davidson’s “Out of the Ordinary” blog, “Hot air and balloons.
  7. Rob Hoffman in the “Hoffman Files” blog, “I wish I looked like John Cusack.
  8. Sara Rose Wheeler’s “Roaring Twenties” blog, “Do you believe in UFOs?
  9. Amy Jones’ “30 Love” blog, “Please, Take a Sick Day!
  10. Deb Best’s “Best for Success” blog, “Don’t hide your eyes on LinkedIn.

So next week, there will be a very special change to this weekly wrapup.  I can’t talk about it now, but just be assured that you will definitely appreciate the new addition to this Thursday roundup.

And I promise to not let any more of those damn Internet gremlins dance through this blog again.

At least not if I can help it.

2 thoughts on “Best of our TU Independent Blogs, September 15, 2016: Ten for Thursday”

Comments are closed.