Week 11 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

Two weeks left … and I’m still within shouting distance of the dreaded cut line.

I know I’m not going to catch the top three teams – the Dans, the Woo Hoos and the Fist – but there’s still an outside shot of catching Nacho Punch.

But what if I don’t?  What if I finish this tournament in fifth place?

It just means that I won’t win any money.

Is that such a bad thing?

I’ve got to be realistic.  Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.

Sometimes you know one answer on the triple bonus, only knowing Wyatt Earp, but not his two brothers Morgan and Virgil.

Sometimes you know the 17-year-old Cleveland Indians pitcher who struck out 17 batters in a single game – Bob Feller – but then, so does everybody else.

And then comes the final round.  The final question.  You have no choice but to bet all your points and hope for the best.

The category is “High Mountains.”

Doesn’t matter if the final category is “Words that rhyme with amburger.”

Bet it all and pray for the best.

“Wheeler Peak is the tallest location in what western U.S. state?”

Okay… it’s not Washington, that’d be Mount Rainier.  And it’s not California, I think that would be El Capitan or something.  Threw out a half-dozen states, and went with Oregon.

The Nachos bet it all and wrote down Montana.

Other teams said Utah, Nevada, Wyoming…

And believe it or not, Wheeler Peak is in…

New Mexico!

Nobody got it right!

Safe bets won for the night…

And even though my chances are thinner than a bowl of lentil broth…

I’m still only 107 points from the cut line.  It can be done.  Maybe.

If I don’t do it… it’s no big shakes.

But if I do it… If…

That’s for next week.

So how did your trivia team do this week?

Graney’s Stout Trivia League Standings
Summer 2016
Week 11 of 12
Trivia Team Week 11
Scores
Tournament
Totals
1 Dan 2014: Dan-sing With the Stars 80 1453
2 Woo Hoo a Go Go 36 1198
3 The Fist 4 1025
4 Nacho Punch 0 926
THE DREADED CUT LINE
5 Street Academy 0 819
6 Team Squirtle 70 652
7 Stern Fans 610
8
9
10
11
12
13

Next week … is the final week.

 

One thought on “Week 11 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League”

Comments are closed.