Where do goats and cathedrals go?

By the time you read today’s blog post, I will be on my way to Syracuse, as today is “pick-up day” for my award-winning dollhouse artwork, The Cathedral of St. Philco.  And a few weeks ago, I picked up my award-winning photo of the three cute little San Clemente Island goats in a poultry shipping box, called We Are Not Chickens.

Both artworks received blue ribbons in their various competitions – We Are Not Chickens at Altamont, while The Cathedral of St. Philco claimed a blue silk at the New York State Fair.  They were unexpected – but totally appreciated – blue ribbons.

And now they will travel to new homes.

We Are Not Chickens ... but we are Blue Ribbon Award winners!!
We Are Not Chickens.  Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens.  Photo by Chuck Miller.

We Are Not Chickens has been donated as a door prize for the upcoming Paws, Pints and Players trivia fundraiser, which will take place on Saturday, September 24 at 1:00 p.m. at Wolf’s 1-11 in Colonie.  I have a soft spot in my heart for helping animals in need, and if this little artwork helps raise a few extra dollars to help a puppy or a kitten make their lives a bit easier, then so be it.

Holy Henrik Ibsen, Batman... that's a first place ribbon!!!!
The Cathedral of St. Philco.  Vintage radio cabinet, stained glass, E6000 bonding compound, dollhouse furniture, etc.  Photo by Chuck Miller.

As for The Cathedral of St. Philco, I’m dropping it off at the Albany Damien Center, where it will be part of the Damien Center’s upcoming “Autumn Gold Party,” a “Raise the Roof Event” that will help generate funds for the Damien Center’s operations and community outreach.  Whatever funds this little house of worship can generate that would help out those in need, then that’s a good thing as well.

As you can imagine, as much as I enjoy “Competition Season” for my photos, I enjoy “Charity Season” just as much.  The photos and constructs I build should have a functional life after they leave my hands.  They should be enjoyed by others.  And they should also help, in whatever way possible, to make things better.

This is how I’m wired.  Help others when you can.  No ifs, ands, buts, maybes, or any other contradictions.

3 thoughts on “Where do goats and cathedrals go?”

  1. Well said, Chuck.
    And as you know, the best way to fully understand and appreciate that sentiment is to genuinely put into practice.

    Like

Comments are closed.