Raskolnikov and the Colorizebot

As you can imagine, I’ve been having some fun with this layered-film attempt to photograph a switchback road in the Helderbergs.  And in doing so, I snagged a great five-layer film shot with my Krasnogorsk FT-2 ultrawide camera (the one I’ve nicknamed “Raskolnikov”).

Intersection 5. Fuji Acros 100 film (5 strips), Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Intersection 5. Fuji Acros 100 film (5 strips), Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I posted this shot of Intersection 5 on the social media site reddit (have I mentioned that I have a love-hate relationship with the social media site reddit lately?), and someone in one of the forums saw my photo, and decided to post a one-word response to it.

That word was “colorizebot.”

Huh?

Wha?

Apparently there’s a computer program called “Colorizebot,” which when you mention its name on reddit, it will take your black-and-white photo and attempt to transform it into full color.  It uses a very detailed and complicated algorithm for this project – if you can watch Mr. Robot without needing crib notes, you can visit this link for more information on Colorizebot.  Most of the time, Colorizebot’s results are quite impressive.

So here’s what “Colorizebot” did with Intersection 5.

Yikes.

Nice try, Colorizebot.  Maybe next time.

Of course, this gave me an idea.  An inspiration, if you will.

Why not go back to the Helderbergs with some color film, reposition my camera so as to get the entire road (and not lose the lower center section of the road) and give this another shot?

Listen, if I’m on an idea, I’m sticking to it like Krazy Glue.

Last Sunday, I went back to Beaver Dam Road near Thacher Park.  Beautiful sunny noontime day.  A pack of Kodak Ektar 100 print film in the camera.

Ready.

Set.

Snap.

Tilt.

Snap.

Tilt.

Snap.

Tilt.

McGreevy Pro Lab.

Pickup.

Scan.

Enhance.

Load.

Tilt.

Tilt.

Tilt some more.

Too much tilt.

And…

The Switchback. Krasknogorsk FT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film (three strips). Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Switchback. Krasknogorsk FT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film (three strips). Photo by Chuck Miller.

Ooh.

Wow.

Now THIS is what I want.  THIS.  This right here.

The technique works. The concept works.  The Soviet camera works.  And the film works as well.  Perfect choice for a sunny day.

Colorizebot might not have gotten my original B&W picture right… but it did inspire me to go back to Beaver Dam Road and try another shot.

Have I started a shortpile for 2017 Competition Season yet?

Hmm…

I just did.  Right now.  😀

1 thought on “Raskolnikov and the Colorizebot”

Comments are closed.