Week 10 of the Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

I’ve got three weeks to go and over 120 points to gain.

This is what happens when you’re in fifth place in a trivia league and the final prize money goes to the top four squads.

With that in mind, I had to change my strategy and change it quickly.

Throw all caution to the wind.  It’s time to move the chains.  Get the points.  Move the chains.  And if all goes well, you could end up with the game-winning touchdown.

The seven regular teams were at Graney’s Stout, and substitute host Kevin Reilly came in to run the game.  He does a good job, you can catch him hosting at Jessica Stones on Friday night, it’s a great way to unwind after the working week.

The questions started off strong; I knew the Federalist who became President (John Adams), I knew the animal that lives in a warren (rabbits, anyone who’s seen Watership Down would know that one), and I knew cold the animal that holds a sword on the flag of Sri Lanka.  It’s a lion.

By the way, there’s an unwritten rule in bar trivia.  If it’s in plain sight, it’s fair game.  That means if you see something on TV that corresponds to something a host asks, hey it’s coincidence and happenstance.  The triple bonus question required the teams to name the top three college football teams in the current AP ranking.  I knew Alabama and Clemson, but I thought Michigan was the third team.  Did not realize it was Florida State.  And had I waited two minutes to hand in my slip, I could have seen the Top 25 rankings listed on every TV at Graney’s Stout that was tuned to ESPN.

Final question.  I’ve got 90 points; the Dans have a commanding lead.

The category is “War History.”

I’ve got 90 points.  Do I play it safe?  Do I bet zero and take the nine raffle tickets and hope other teams wipe out…

Yeah.  I’ve been playing conservatively for nine straight trivia games and look what it’s gotten me.  I’m below the cut line, and blog reader D357 has been heckling me for losing week after week.

Yeah.  Bet everything.  Bet all the points I earned this week.  Hell, I’ll bet all my points for next week.

Besides, for all I know, the category “War History” could mean a question around this theme.

Okay.

“Rolling off the assembly line in 1915, what country produced the first tank?”

Well, I’m pretty sure the first tank wasn’t a low rider… although I can imagine some chop-dropped El Caminos that would make awesome low riders…

Get back to the topic, Miller…

Okay, time to think, Chuck, think.  Think, think, think.

Host Kevin Reilly walks by my table.  “I know what you’re doing,” he said to me.  “It’ll be in the blog tomorrow.  You’re going to say, ‘Think, Chuck, think.  Think, think, think.”

Hokey smokes, am I THAT predictable?  Naw… can’t be…

Okay, process of elimination.  I know that Germany invented mustard gas to throw at enemy troops… and maybe the mustard gas was thrown at enemy tanks.  Maybe, just maybe…

I slowly wrote down ENGLAND on my answer slip.  Handed it to the host.

Other teams said England.  Some said France.  The Dans were ahead of me – and they said Germany.

Well… apparently, the first tank ever made came out of a factory in England.

Which means … I doubled my points.

And the Dans had the wrong answer, and slipped in the point total…

So for the weekly game, Street Academy took the victory!  Free drinks and pizza for next week!

I did gain a little bit on teams, and maybe – just maybe – I still have a chance with two weeks to go.  I may need some pluck and luck, but I moved the chains tonight.

And there’s a two-minute drill in front of me.

Let’s do this.

How did your trivia team do this week?

Graney’s Stout Trivia League Standings
Summer 2016
Week 10 of 12
Trivia Team Week 10
Scores
Tournament
Totals
1 Dan 2014: The Dan-pire State Plaza 127 1373
2 Woo Hoo a Go Go 100 1162
3 The Fist 60 1021
4 Nacho Punch 176 926
THE DREADED CUT LINE
5 Street Academy 180 819
6 Stern Fans  56 610
7 Team Squirtle  40 582
8
9
10
11
12
13

Ten weeks down … only two weeks to go.

1 thought on “Week 10 of the Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League”

Comments are closed.