Buster’s showing off his Shofar

The shofar is one of the oldest musical instruments.  It’s the horn that Joshua blew to knock down the walls at Jericho.  And the most beautiful shofars in the world came from the heads of rams.

During my “Sunday at the Altamont Fair” excursion, in which I spend the entire day at Altamont and experience the fun of the Fair – I took a trip through the sheep and goat barn.

In one of the sheep pens was a horned dorset ram with an amazing pair of horns.  Monstrous horns.  Almost looked like Rosey Grier’s game-day helmet.  Sorry – almost looked like Todd Gurley’s game-day helmet.  Gotta make the references more suitable for modern audiences.

Anyways…

Buster (that’s the ram’s name) is owned by Wishing Well Farms of Sharon Springs, breeder of award-winning horned dorset sheep.

I wanted to photograph this majestic ram and its big horns.  But a ram in a pen isn’t the greatest subject for photo competitions.  Still, I had to try.  All I had on me was my Nimslo four-lens camera, so I hoped for a nice shot that would capture this ram’s horns in three dimensions.

He’d pose.  And as I shot, he’d move.

Stubborn ram.

I did get a couple of shots as he grazed on some straw.

And then, all of a sudden, he started rubbing his horns against the metal bars of his pen.  Aw, don’t do that, buddy.  You’ll scrape up your horns.  Horns of blue only works if you’re Miles Davis.

And then – as he twisted his head and bumped the cage one more time…

The horn threaded through the cage bars.

And before I knew it… I snapped a shot.

And another one.

And a third one, before I ran out of film.

I talked with the Buster’s owner, and we agreed that after Labor Day, if all goes well, I could come out to their farm and photograph Buster in the fields.  Which would work well for me.

Meanwhile…

Let’s take this roll to McGreevy Pro Lab and see what they can do.

On Wednesday, I received my negatives back from McGreevy.

And…

Well well well.  Look what we have here.

Looks like Buster the Horned Dorset has a third dimension about him.  And a lot of visible dust on the film.  Nertz.  That, and every single spot where I cleared off the dust shows up in little flickers.  Dangit.

Still, I hope that when his owners allow me to photograph him later this year, I’ll have some much better pictures of ol’ Buster, pictures that don’t involve blue bars and the like.

2 thoughts on “Buster’s showing off his Shofar”

  1. Fascinating subject / head gear.
    Now that he’s sized you up, it’ll be interesting to see how well you’re received when you visit him on his own turf.

    Like

Comments are closed.