Raskolnikov’s Intersection, part 2

You may have heard that I’m trying something new with my Krasnogorsk FT-2 ultrawide camera “Raskolnikov.”  I had previously tried to craft a “weave” by crossing two strips of 35mm film into an intersectional photograph.

Liked it, but wanted more.

So last Sunday I went back to that bendy road near Route 157, just off the roadway to Thacher Park.  This time, I’ve loaded Raskolnikov with a pack of Fuji Acros 100 film, to get stunning B&W exposures.  That, and to better control the amount of light going into the camera and the resultant shots therefrom.

This is geometry at work.  That, or algebra.  Or calculus.  Or something.

And instead of panning the camera in a sweeping motion from left to right on its axis, I decided instead to pivot the camera from 10 o’clock to 11 o’clock to 12 o’clock to 1 o’clock to 2 0’clock.  In theory, doing this guarantees that whatever stays in the center of the picture will make for a clear and solid intersection when all the images are layered.

Hope, hope, hope, hope.

Of course, all I want is street and greenery and sky.  So any time I hear any engines nearby, I have to wait until the car or motorcycle travels through.  I don’t need them in my picture.

One guy stops his car in the middle of the road, rolls down the window and shouts, “Hey, what are you doing?”

“Taking pictures of this bend in the road,” I reply.

“Weren’t you here last week doing this?”

I nodded.  “Yeah.  Just trying something here.”

“You doing survey work?”

“No.”

“You with the government?”

“No.”

“Okay,” he said, and drove off.

Well, that was eventful.

Okay.  Film dropped off at McGreevy Pro Lab.

And when I received the developed results…

Okay.  Looks like everything turned out.  Now let’s see if my layering technique will work for a change.

I scanned in five of the ultrawide films.  Yep, some of them were a little overexposed, but a contrast and brightness adjustment should take care of that anomaly.

Now to layer them.

And…

I got this.

Intersection 5. Fuji Acros 100 film (5 strips), Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Intersection 5. Fuji Acros 100 film (5 strips), Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Sweet tapdancing St. Basil, Batman, I got it!

Okay.  Now to build on this.  Bring the camera lower to the ground, so as to get the entire road (the intersection cuts off the bottom of the street).  And do I want to use five strips, or maybe just three – the horizontal and the two extreme angles?

Gotta think, gotta think…

You know… inspiration is a wonderful thing.

And building on inspiration is even more wonderful.

 

2 thoughts on “Raskolnikov’s Intersection, part 2”

Comments are closed.