The ownership of golden pins

Over the weekend, I began work on a new Dream Window project.  No, I’m not going to reveal its concept to you right now.  These projects take time.  Trust me on this.

As part of the project, I placed an eBay order for an item that contained various stickpins associated with the project’s concept.  Yesterday, the pins arrived at my mailbox safe and sound.

And as I went through the pins, double-checking every single stickpin for its appropriateness to my project…

I found two pins that didn’t fit the mold.

Here they are, scanned alongside a penny to give you an idea of their dimensions.

The pins.
The pins.

The pin at the upper left denotes that this original owner was part of a high school newspaper and journalism honor society, the Quill and Scroll.  Now granted, I was the editor of my high school newspaper, and I was a finalist in the Times Union Gene Robb Journalism scholarship award (and by mentioning this, I’m sure there’s a staff blogger right now running to the Times Union archive room with a bottle of Liquid Paper to remove my name from any and all microfilms of that time period).

But I was never a member of the Quill and Scroll.  And even though it’s a beautiful pin, I can’t keep it.

The pin at the upper left is an award designating that the previous owner once participated – and won – the American Legion’s Oratorical Contest.  The American Legion has hosted this contest for nearly 80 years, in which high school students speak on topics related to the United States Constitution and the roll of government.  The award promotes not only public speaking and clear speech, but also analytical thought and a comprehensive understanding of the world around us.

And even though I did make it through four years of public speaking classes at Hamilton College, and I did compete in the public speaking competitions each year (never won, but never gave up either), I can’t keep this pin.  It’s not fair.

So what do I do with these pins?

Maybe I could smelt them for their scrap gold value.  The back of the Quill and Scroll pin had markings that told me the pin was 1/20 10K gold filled.  The American Legion pin was listed as 1/30 10K gold filled.  Which means, if I sold these two pins for their scrap metal value, I’d probably get fifteen cents for the pair.

Nah.  Not worth my time.

Another option would be to offer them as rare collectibles.  Nah.  Both websites actually sell these pins, and any Joe Schmo could purchase them without question.

So I went through all my options.

And in the end, I chose Option D.  You’ve read my blog long enough, you know I was going to pick Option D.

And Option D meant putting the two pins on my Facebook page, and letting my Facebook friends know that if any of them wanted the pins, I would send them off for free.  Heck, I’d even toss in the penny I used for the scan to show “scale.”

Not a couple of hours later… I received a message.  Someone wanted the pins.  Addresses were exchanged.  And this morning, the pins are on their way to a new, appreciative home.

Yeah, I could have kept them, but what good would that have accomplished?

Instead, I sent the pins to someone who would truly appreciate them for what they represented.  Or perhaps they were part of those societies and their pins disappeared in the mists of time.  Or perhaps they’re just pin collectors, which is fine as well.

Besides, the eBay auction that contained those two pins also contained sixteen pins for the project I’m currently assembling.

And that, in and of itself, is my main focus.

1 thought on “The ownership of golden pins”

  1. Remember the Argus Brick I gave you that was my fathers camera?
    Hope you can put it to use.
    He passed away August 10th.
    Dave

    Like

Comments are closed.