Competition Season 2016: My Durham Fair entries are…

In two previous attempts at the Durham Fair’s photo competition in Durham, Connecticut, I’ve snagged two third-place awards (for Vivaldi’s Pond and The Jumbuck), a first place (for Jessica: Instamatic Dichotomy) and my first-ever Best in Show (in 2013 for The AGFA Bridge Over Ansco Lake).

Plus, entering the Durham Fair gives me a chance to have an end-of-season exclamation point with Competition Season 2016.

The setup is simple.  I send my photos to my buddy Bob in Connecticut, and he takes my entries (and his) to Durham for judging.  Then, on the Sunday of the Durham Fair, I visit the fairgrounds (which some track star thought would be perfect to set up a fair on the side of a hill), and at the close of the Fair, I claim my artworks.

I can enter a maximum of four pictures at Durham, all foam-boarded at 16×20 dimensions.  With this competition, I chose a mixture of current and heritage pieces.

So what four entries am I shipping off to the Nutmeg State today?

This year’s Durham entries include:

THE WALKWAY

The Walkway
The Walkway. Rolleiflex Automat MX camera, efke 25 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Yes, I brought back my 2015 New York State Fair ribbon-winning entry for a second appearance.  I hope that this simple, serene shot shows sincerity and smoothness – and snags some silk.  Si?

THE SARATOGA AND NORTH CREEK RAILROAD

The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad
The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

My feeling is that this photo, with its vibrant colors and strong imagery, deserves a shot at Durham.

THE HEAVENS ABOVE, THE FOREST BELOW

The Heavens Above, The Forest Below. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Heavens Above, The Forest Below. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This photo has really captured a lot of hearts this Competition Season.  And so far, it’s the only photo I’ve submitted in Competition Season 2016 to earn any silks (Honorable Mention at Altamont).  With that in mind, I hope that by choosing to enter it at Durham, the photo will also capture the judges’ hearts as well.

JESUS SAVES

Jesus Saves
Jesus Saves. Nikon F100 camera, Nikkor 50-400 f/4.5 telephoto lens, Revolog Tesla 2 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

One last try for the electrified neon mercy mission sign.  Can it earn the three-ribbons-in-three-competitions club?  Can it get a blue and become only the second Chuck Miller artwork to earn three blue ribbons?

All right, off they go.  Off to Connecticut.

Cross your fingers, folks.

I’d like a strong finish to Competition Season 2016.

This may help.

I hope.

 

One thought on “Competition Season 2016: My Durham Fair entries are…”

Comments are closed.