2:00 a.m. creativity

I can’t sleep.  Again.  Insomnia is like a tone-deaf bugler at a Boy Scout campout.  And he’s playing Revilee six hours early.

I roll over.  Still can’t sleep.

Okay, may as well get up and do something.  Anything.

Hey, maybe that wild petunia that was growing in my outdoor flower pot might still have a bloom or two.  I threw on some clothes and take a look outside.

Yep.  Four blooms, one big bloom.  Swank.

Okay, go back to sleep.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No, that’s not working.  Dang it.

Maybe I can do something.  Work on an art project.  Correspond with a Facebook friend.  Or something.

Nah.

I know.  I’ll go back outside and look at my petunia plant.

No, that’s not going to work.  Already did that, and it didn’t bring any slumbers.

Hold on.  I have an idea.  Maybe if I set up my cameras and photograph the petunia bloom.

Nah, I don’t want to do that.  Not at 2:00 in the morning.

Then I had an idea.

I recently read an article on petapixel.com about Derek B and his scanner photography.  He would take flowers – buds, blooms, leaves, stalks, whatever – and place them on his flatbed scanner, scan them at high resolutions, and turn the results into art.  And his stuff is really, really good.

Okay, it’s 2:00 in the morning.  Let’s give this a try.

I went back outside and plucked one of the petunia blooms.  After carefully cleaning the glass on my flatbed scanner, I placed the petunia bloom on the glass and scanned the petals at high resolution – about 3600 dots per inch.  After cleaning away some dust and pollen, I cropped and centered the piece.

And look what came out.

Petunia. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Petunia. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Holy crap.  That’s impressive, for sure.  Nice detail. If I do this again, I want to make sure the plant has several contrasting colors in the petals.  It’ll make for a much better shot.  But then again, it’s 2:00 in the morning, it’s not like I’m going to drive down to Hewitt’s Garden Center and pound on the doors until they let me in to purchase a zinnia.

Okay, let’s try some other items around the apartment.  I’ve got some seashells from my Florida trip… how would they look as a high-resolution scanjob?

Let’s see, shall we?

Seashells. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Seashells. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Dang.  Hey, I’ve got a couple of those peppermint candies around here somewhere… what would they look like at a high-res scan, complete with their cellophane wrappings and all?

The Candies. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Candies. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Not bad.  Maybe Jack and Meg White might approve.  Or maybe not.

But I’m definitely liking the petunia photo.  And now I have an idea.  Next time I go to the farmer’s market or to the garden store, maybe I’ll purchase some colorful flowers, clip off the blooms, and arrange them on the scanner for a high-res shot.

No, I haven’t given up on my camera gear.  But this may be a nice alternative way for me to create some new artwork, whether for competition or just for enjoyment.

Or maybe…

Something to help me…

Finally get some…

Some…

zzzzz…

zzzz….

zzzz….

 

2 thoughts on “2:00 a.m. creativity”

Comments are closed.