Week 7 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

The funny thing about playing competitive team trivia is … you never know what will trigger the correct answer in a team’s collective brain cells.

I explain this because most of the teams in this weeks’ trivia game nailed questions left and right.  Everybody knew that the film that introduced the “Pizza Planet” restaurant to moviegoers was Toy Story.  Everybody knew that a new statue in Brooklyn features the visage of Captain America.  Even the quadruple bonus question – name the four Presidents that succeeded Theodore Roosevelt in the office (Taft, Wilson, Harding, Coolidge) turned into a quick 32 points for everybody across the board.

That’s why the final question was such a wrinkle.

First, you had to figure out whether to bet everything (and win the night) or bet a few points (and hedge your spot as teams entered the homestretch).  The final category was “King of the World.”

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I’m thinking this.

But I know as well as anybody else – the category might be tangentially different than what we know.

So I bet a conservative 38 of my 138 points.  Even if I wipe out, I still have 100 points and ten raffle tickets for my efforts.

“In what century did Genghis Khan rule the world?”

Wow…

I tried to remember … but all I could think about was …

Yeah, good thing I didn’t study my history lesson from Mr. Peabody.

That being said, I thought that Genghis Khan was a resident of the 12th century.  Other teams said the 13th, the 14th, the 15th, even the 17th century.

Only two teams got it right – Genghis Khan was a conqueror in the 13th century.  Not in 214 B.C. as Mr. Peabody suggested.

Two teams got it right – and they bet conservatively.  Other teams picked up points, as did my Street Academy team.

After the game ended, before I went to my car for the drive home, I chatted with a member of one of the teams with the correct answer, Woo Hoo a Go Go.

“Did you ever see the TV show Limitless?” she asked me.

“I’ve heard of it,” I replied.

“I saw it on Netflix the other day.  And there was an episode where someone mentioned that one out of 100 people in the world have this genetic marker as a descendant of Genghis Khan, because Genghis Khan went all around the world conquering and raping and creating descendants.”

Just goes to show … you never know where a correct answer may develop from birth.  Ha.

And with five weeks left in the tournament, this is coming down to a helluva horse race for the big win.

How did your trivia team do this week?

Graney’s Stout Trivia League Standings
Summer 2016
Week 7 of 12
Trivia Team Week 7
Scores
Tournament
Totals
1 Dan 2014: Dan-rassic Park 60 1074
2 The Fist 140 834
3 Woo Hoo a Go Go 100 760
4 Street Academy 100 503
THE DREADED CUT LINE
5 Stern Fans 92 438
6 Team Squirtle 50 412
7 Nacho Punch  0 378
8
9
10
11
12
13

Seven weeks down … five weeks to go.

2 thoughts on “Week 7 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League”

  1. > “…one out of 100 people in the world have this genetic marker as a descendant of Genghis Khan, because Genghis Khan went all around the world conquering and raping and creating descendants.”

    Not to throw shade towards a fellow wu-hu, but if it’s “legitimate” rape i’ve been told a “female body can shut the whole thing (reproduction) down.”

    Like

Comments are closed.