Competition Season 2016: My 2016 Big E photos are…

Let me share something cool about the Big E’s photo competition.  It’s the only competition I regularly enter in which all photos are judged on their own merits, and all photos receive their own individual scores.  In other words, there can be several “first prize” winners in one category, so you’re really not competing with anyone else in the event.

Another cool thing about the Big E’s photo competition.  For the past four years, each photo I’ve entered in the Big E’s competition has earned a ribbon of some sort.  And three of them – Jesus SavesThe Jumbuck and Poestenkill Falls – have all snagged blue silks for first place.

This year, however, things have changed.  I am now limited to two photography entries at the Big E, not three as in prior years.  I suspect this might have something to do with the increasing number of great photos; there’s just not enough room in the New England Center to store them all.  A wealth of riches, I suppose…

Also, it looks as if I’m restricted once again in terms of entering HDR photos (can’t do it, nope) or any of my three-dimensional endeavors.  Theoretically, if I had three pictures to enter, I could have made one an experimental showing and left it at that.  But not if I only have two available photos.  So I must enter my photos carefully and judiciously.

And one more thing – there aren’t specific themed categories for each entry.  The only categories are “black and white” and “color.”  They don’t care if the photo was taken with a camera phone, with a film camera, with a DSLR, or with the wet plate collodion technique.  No, I’m not getting involved in wet plate collodion technique.  That’s for the super-experts.

So can my Big E silk-streak continue?

I don’t know.

But I do know one thing.

These are my two entries for the Big E’s 2016 photo competition.

And they are…

THE HEAVENS ABOVE, THE FOREST BELOW

The Stars Above, The Forest Below. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Heavens Above, The Forest Below. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This was a last-second switcheroo, in that I was originally planning on entering one of my Niagara Falls photos.  Still, I chose this picture because I’ve had great success with astrophotography at the Big E; my previous sky shot, Star Trails of Paradox Lake, earned a second place silk at the Big E way back in 2012.  Maybe it’s time for the Adirondacks to give me another pretty silk in Springfield, don’tcha think?

And…

THE SARATOGA AND NORTH CREEK RAILROAD

The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens, enhancements with Google Nik software. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens, enhancements with Google Nik software. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I couldn’t get away from this picture.  It’s bright, it’s vibrant, it’s got to catch the attention of the judges.  And every time I wanted to put another photo in … I said to myself, “Is that photo better than The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad?  No?  Then we go back to the Railroad for another appearance.”

Okay.  One B&W, one color.  Let’s see what happens at the Big E this year.

Hopefully good things.

We shall see.

Into the box you go…

And off to Massachusetts you go…

And in a month or so…

Off to Springfield I go.  😀

1 thought on “Competition Season 2016: My 2016 Big E photos are…”

Comments are closed.