Week 6 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

The thing with a tavern trivia league tournament is that if you build up enough points and get the final answer right, you can really cement your position.

If you get that answer wrong, however… then you have to hope that other teams got the answer wrong as well, or that some teams bet miniscule amounts of points.

Well, that didn’t happen for my one-man Street Academy trivia team last night.  No it did not.

Suffice it to say, I tried a gamble.  I had about 66 points going into the final question, and the category was “Olympic Gold.”

Figured, what the heck, I’d bet it all this time and pray for rain.

“Olympic gold medals are not pure gold… they are gold-plated over what metal?”

Crap.  No, they’re not plated over crap.

But what were they plated over?  Lead?  Tin?  Aluminum?  Nickel?  Zinc?  Platinum?  Unobtanium?  Upsidasium?

No idea.  And I went with iron.

And most of the other teams went with silver.

And the only other answer – of copper – came from Woo Hoo a Go Go, but they only bet a few points.

Yep.  It was silver.

Yet although everybody else picked up points, I still have a finger-tips-on-a-ledge grasp on fourth place.

So even though I messed up this week… I’m just going to mark this week as my official mulligan.

And if nothing else, there’s still a tournament to be played.  How did your trivia team do this week?

Graney’s Stout Trivia League Standings
Summer 2016
Week 6 of 12
Trivia Team Week 6
Scores
Tournament
Totals
1 Dan 2014:Dan-icide Squad 237 1014
2 The Fist 64 694
3 Woo Hoo a Go Go 106 660
4 Street Academy 0 403
THE DREADED CUT LINE
5 Nacho Punch 154 378
6 Team Squirtle 124 362
7 Stern Fans 100 346
8 The System 143 143
9 Team Bob 96
10 Team Minority Report 84
11 The Dude Abides 60
12 Team Eleven 48
13 You’re the Kilt to My Bagpipes 42
14 The Flying Brains ?? ??
15  Birthday Crew  24  24

Six weeks down … six weeks to go.

1 thought on “Week 6 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League”

  1. Upsidasium? I think I had a ring made out of that once. Got it in that crane game or Cracker Jack. 🙂 Better trivia luck next week!

    Like

Comments are closed.