“Yes, Mr. Miller, we will accept your American entry.”

I know, I know, I should not be doing this.  I have plenty of photo contests in the United States in which I can enter.

That being said, I figured it was time to see what I could achieve in entering a photo or three at the Saint John Ex.  That’s Saint John, New Brunswick, as in the Province of New Brunswick in Canada.  Home of the Saint John Mill Rats of the National Basketball League of Canada.

I checked the rules.  Sizes of prints – framed and mounted – I could do.  Subject matter – right in my wheelhouse.

But before I could submit my entries, I needed to confirm something regarding my entries.

Would I – as an American photographer – be allowed to enter a Canadian photo competition?

A phone call to the organizers.  They said they would investigate the situation and let me know.

Another phone call to the organizers.  They said that as long I was willing to accept any prize money in Canadian funds, and that I had a Canadian person who would enter the artwork for me, I was more than welcome to enter my photos.

Luckily, I did have a friend who could enter my pictures for me.  And, I was set with my entries.

So today, I’m shipping off – either via UPS or FedEx, whichever is less expensive – two framed photos, to see if my images can receive some love from the judges.

With that in mind… the two photos I’m submitting to the Saint John Ex photo competition are…

THE JUMBUCK

The Jumbuck. Nikon D700 camera, Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

It’s like this.  If you’re only doing this one time, and you’re deciding to enter a photo that has already won three blue ribbons in three other competitions, what harm is there to try to enter it in a fourth one?  This picture is being entered in the “black and white” category, although there is also a category for animal photography…

And one more…

THE SARATOGA AND NORTH CREEK RAILROAD

The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad.  Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This picture of the Sacandaga River and the railroad bridge that spans it is being entered in the color – er, colour – category.

Now all I have to do is ship these artworks off to New Brunswick, and have my friend drop them off on the weekend of August 27-28.

And win, lose or tie, I told my New Brunswick friend that for helping me out with this project, she gets to keep the framed print of The Saratoga and North Creek Railroad for her home.  Just so everybody understands that I do appreciate those who assist me in these endeavors – er, endeavours.

I won’t hear the results of the Saint John Ex until next month.

But still, I’m looking forward to the results.

2 thoughts on ““Yes, Mr. Miller, we will accept your American entry.””

Comments are closed.