The miracle of the purple petunias

A blooming wild petunia plant. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.
A blooming wild petunia plant. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

My eyes do not deceive me.  And neither does the camera on my BlackBerry phone.

But there it is.  A blooming plant with green leaves and purple petals.  I showed a picture of the wild plant to my Facebook friends, who identified the plant as a petunia.

But I hadn’t planted petunias.

What I planted was …

Well, let me tell you what happened.

Earlier this year, I decided it was time to try a new hobby.  I bought some plants online, which I hoped would bloom in time for me to photograph them and enter those photographs in competition.  You know, using my hold hobby to motivate me in a new hobby.

I purchased several of the exotic plants from an online nursery, bought some flower pots and potting soil from Hewitt’s Garden Center, transferred the exotic plants to their new home, watered them, and waited.

And waited.

And then, one day…

It snowed like crazy.  Big fat snowstorm.

And stupid, lazy me forgot to bring the plants in to protect them from the cold.

Sure enough… none of the exotic blooms survived the snowstorm.  Bad Miller.  Bad, bad Miller.  My laziness killed off those plants.

And I kept thinking to myself … wow, I guess it is true.  Most people have green thumbs; my thumbs are made of RoundUp.  I couldn’t grow AstroTurf.  I would kill a plastic plant.  If I filled in one of those online surveys about “What part of the garden are you?” it would tell me I was a Mediterranean fruit fly in an orange grove.  Urgh.

Months went by.  And every time I came home from my day job, I would look at that pot.  Nothing but potting soil and maybe a few remnants of this or that.

The other day, I came home from my day job.  I looked at the pot as I walked up the steps to my apartment in the Town and Village.  Yep, nothing in the pot but potting soil and a few green leafy stalks and some purple petals …

Wait.  Brain’s not processing this properly.

I went back for another look.

Those are leaves, all right… and those are certainly petals.

A quick canvass of my Facebook friends’ horticultural knowledge revealed that those were petunias in that pot.

But I never purchased petunias.  Yet here they are, growing in the pot.

One of my Facebook friends suggested that the seeds might have been transferred by a bird from one location to the next.  Well, that certainly would make sense.

Then again… this plant is growing despite my miserable efforts at past gardening.

Only one thing to do.

Keep this plant alive for as long as possible.  Take care of it.  Let Mother Nature water it.  Add some fertilizer.  Make this work.

And if I can keep this petunia plant alive…

Then maybe, just maybe, I have a chance for keeping other things in my life flourishing and blooming.  And truly, the words of Isaiah 61:11 may ring true after all.

“For as the earth bringeth forth her bud, and as the garden causeth the things that are sown in it to spring forth; so the Lord GOD will cause righteousness and praise to spring forth before all the nations.”

Okay, little petunia…

Let’s make this work.  You and me.

And if I can keep you alive and blooming and beautiful…

I’ll take that as a positive.

2 thoughts on “The miracle of the purple petunias”

  1. Just proves that in all the desolation and futility of life a little bit of unexpected beauty is possible.

    Like

Comments are closed.