Week 5 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

There’s a good rule about using your safety options in competitive team trivia.  Use them if you don’t know something, but hope that you can keep a skip or a double-chance option in your back pocket later in the game.

Of course, if you use your options up early in the night … you better be either smart or lucky.

In week five … my Street Academy trivia team was both smart and lucky.

Let me explain.

In the first quarter, I burned my skips on not knowing the female lead opposite Tom Hanks in Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (it was Sandra Bullock, a 4-point question), and I didn’t know the video game for which an 8-year-old kid received a congratulatory letter from Ronald Reagan for setting a 3 million point high score (if I had to guess, I would have used my double on either Asteroids or Ms. Pac Man; it was Mr. Pac Man, but I skipped it anyway).

That left me with no skips; and I burned my double-chance option on the movie monster who received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2004 (went with King Kong and Godzilla, it was Godzilla).

But remember that part about being smart AND being lucky?  Having never seen the film Psycho nor the TV show Californication, I guessed that a product on that show known as “Morley’s” were cigarettes.  Right answer.  I also knew the year Ronald Reagan survived an assassination attempt (1981), the horror movie from 1976 that starred Gregory Peck (the Omen), and the number of states that begin with the letter ‘M” (eight of ‘m).

Third place, looking up at Woo Hoo a Go Go and The Fist.  Figured I’d bet enough to hold my ground.  Final question was “College Hoops.”

“What West Coast city was the last to host an NCAA Men’s Final Four basketball tournament?”

West coast city.  What’s that, Los Angeles, Seattle, San Francisco, or San Diego?  Think, Chuck, think.

Oh yeah.  This came up.

I remember this.  Ed O’Bannon and the UCLA Bruins winning a championship.  Yeah.  That was back in the day.  And is that “Big Country” Bryant Reeves on the court?  Big Country… more like big flop when he played for the Vancouver Grizzlies.

But I remember the game was in Seattle.  That was back in the day when you could still play championship games in football stadia, and this was at the Kingdome.

Okay.  Seattle is the answer.

And yes, Seattle WAS the answer.

Most teams had it, including the night’s eventual winner Woo Hoo a Go Go … and the top four teams remain unchanged.

Nacho Punch, however, bet everything and said Los Angeles for the location.  Nopes.

So there’s some shakeup below the dreaded cut line.

How is your team doing?  Here’s the standings after five weeks.

Graney’s Stout Trivia League Standings
Summer 2016
Week 5 of 12
Trivia Team Week 5
Scores
Tournament
Totals
1 Dan 2014: Bachman-Turner
Danderdrive
108 777
2 The Fist 146 630
3 Woo Hoo a Go Go 150 554
4 Street Academy 130 403
THE DREADED CUT LINE
5 Stern Fans 80 246
6 Team Squirtle 98 238
7 Nacho Punch 0 224
8 Team Bob 96
9 Team Minority Report 84
10 The Dude Abides 60
11 Team Eleven 48
12 You’re the Kilt to My Bagpipes 42
13 The Flying Brains ?? ??
14  Birthday Crew  24  24
15

Five weeks down … seven weeks to go.

3 thoughts on “Week 5 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League”

  1. We woo hoo were expecting another big throw down with the Dantasticles but were too pacified when they offered their victory beer to us.

    Like

Comments are closed.