Week 2 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League

Sometimes, when playing competitive bar trivia, you can have a great run of several correct questions in a row.

This was NOT one of those nights.

A lot of teams this week, myself included, struggled in Week 2 of the twelve-week summer trivial league at Graney’s Stout.  Some of the questions were absolute murder questions – in trivia parlance, a “murder question” wipes out almost everybody.  You know, questions like “What car company uses the slogan ‘Intelligence is the new rock and roll’?”  No, it’s not what you think it is.  It’s Audi.  Freakin’ Audi.

Yeah, because when I think of Audi, Iggy Pop and the Stooges instantly comes to mind.

And for every gain made on multiple-choice questions – knowing the managers and MVP of last night’s All-Star Game, for example – I coughed it up by not knowing the phrase “good fences make good neighbors” came from a Robert Frost poem, not a TS Eliot poem.  At this point in time, several of my literature aficionados are throwing things at their computer and cursing my name.

Hey, I’d curse too.

Because at the end of nineteen questions, I was in seventh place among seven teams, holding down a measly 46 points.  The Fist, Woo Hoo a Go Go, Dan 2014, Stern Fans, Nacho Punch, all above me – as well as a new team, The Flying Brains, who had 104 points and were only eight points off the lead.

Final category is American History.

Yeah, I’m not taking any chances.  I got 46 points?  I’m betting 5 points.  This way, I’m still guaranteed tickets whether I win or lose on this final question.

“After leaving office, what 20th-century President founded the Boys Club of America?”

Woah.  That’s a rough question.  I know there were Boys’ Clubs all over the country, but when were they officially founded?

I wrote down Theodore Roosevelt.  Good enough guess.

And then the host said, “I have to re-word this question.  I don’t like how it reads.”

And a few minutes later, he repeated the question.  This time…

“After leaving office, what 20th-century President helped the Boys Club of America get a national charter?”

Yeah, I had to take my answer back.  I still had no idea, but I figured it would have to be someone with both political and military clout.  I don’t know if I’m right or not … but I went with Eisenhower.  Hell, I could have said Josiah Bartlett for all I knew on this.

So did a couple of other teams.  Other names mentioned – Jimmy Carter, Woodrow Wilson, Herbert Hoover …

And here’s an anomaly.  The team that was in second place with 104 points, the Flying Brains, bet all their points … and left the bar before the final question could be answered.  So we don’t know if they got it right or not … and I suspect they don’t know either.  So no points for them.

Anyways, the correct answer was Herbert Hoover, and only one team – The Fist – got it right.  Safe bets helped, while some teams bet the farm and lost all the eggs.

Okay, new totals are listed below.  How did your team do this week?

 

Graney’s Stout Trivia League Standings
Summer 2016
Week 2 of 12
Trivia Team Week 2
Scores
Tournament
Totals
1 Dan 2014: Kung Fu Danda 54 304
2 Nacho Punch 0 224
3 The Fist 100 200
4 Stern Fans 76 166
5 Woo Hoo a Go Go 40 160
6 Street Academy 41 151
7 Team Bob 96
8 Team Minority Report 84
9 The Dude Abides 60
10 Team Eleven 48
11 You’re the Kilt to My Bagpipes 42
12 The Flying Brains ?? ??
13
14
15

Two weeks down … ten weeks to go.

1 thought on “Week 2 of the 2016 Graney’s Stout Summer Trivia League”

Comments are closed.