Best of our TU Community Blogs, June 30, 2016: Ten for Thursday

I want to share something with you.

Many years ago, one of my features in my blog involved rewriting and serializing an old college writing project.  I spread the novella over several different blog posts, scheduling chapters to appear three times a week.  It was a personal challenge for me – to not only update something that was nearly 30 years old, but to also continue to add blog content in my blog’s early days.

And while my writing project, The Robins of Iverhil: A Minor League Fairytale, was well-received, it did receive some disdain from a Times Union staff blogger, who curtly informed me that those blog chapters were MUCH too long for the average reader to digest; and that I should limit my posts to 300 words on current topics instead.

I say this because I want you to take a moment this week and enjoy David Kalish’s three-part story, “Fast Love in the Alhambra.”  He spread this short story over three consecutive blog posts of his, and it’s quite a remarkable read.

And it brings us to this point.  A blog does not have to limit itself to 300 words or less.  A blog does not have to anchor itself to current events or current topics.  A blog is what you make of it.  If you create something readable and enjoyable, it doesn’t matter if the final output is four words or four thousand words.  What a blogger creates is an extension of his or her personality, intelligence, creativity, wonder, amusement, anger, frustration, redemption, resolution, reflection, and remembrance.  Not every blogger thinks or writes in an equal manner; no more than any two fingerprints are similar.

That’s why, when I post this Thursday recap, I want to show you the amazing vitality and emotion and involvement of my fellow independent and community bloggers.  It’s not ten different blogs about the same subject.  And even if it was the same subject, it would still be ten different voices and ten different opinions and ten different approaches.

And that’s what makes the Times Union’s blog portal – and its independent and community bloggers residing therein – so amazing.

So let’s start this week’s batch of delicious and entertaining content with:

  1. David Kalish’s “The Ruminator” blog, “Fast Love in the Alhambra” (Part 1) (Part 2) (Part 3).
  2. Sonja Stark’s “PilotGirl” blog, “A mooarvalous day at a local dairy farm.
  3. Roger Green’s “Information Without the Bun” blog, “Norm Nissen (1958-2016).
  4. Rob Hoffman’s “Hoffman Files” blog, “Does the hat make the man?
  5. Sara Rose Wheeler’s “Roaring Twenties” blog, “VidCon 2016.
  6. Lale Davidson’s “Out of the Ordinary” blog, “Brrr!-Exiting the responsibilities of citizenship.
  7. Michael Rivest’s blog, “Trump and the evangelicals.
  8. Renate Hartman in the Transgender blog, “Transgender woman exposes secret transgender agenda.
  9. Peter Bowden in the gardening blog, “Floral fireworks.”  (Damn those are great photos!)
  10. Gina Peca’s blog, “The magic of Harry Potter continues…

Have a great day, everybody, and enjoy these Times Union blogs – and many more in the TU blog portal!

3 thoughts on “Best of our TU Community Blogs, June 30, 2016: Ten for Thursday”

  1. Good point Chuck, people have been telling me my blogs are way too long. I don’t see it that way though. I see them as columns. Short blurbs are for twitter.

    Like

Comments are closed.