If you C♯ you won’t B♭

In an effort to make my Leica M3 (“Leica Green”) a multi-purpose 35mm shooter, capable of shooting everything from print film to slide film, from expired film to infrared film, from B&W film to distressed film, I need to get it in the field and test it.

So last week, I stuffed Leica Green with some Kodak HIE infrared film, slapped an infrared filter on the camera’s Summicron 50mm lens, and went for a drive.

I’ve played around with infrared film for the past two years; and although I’ve had some minimal success with it (mostly with the shots Parabola and Aerochrome Falls), I wanted more from that film format.  And if I could combine the infrared spectrum with Leica’s precision…

Hoo boy this could be lots of fun.

I had some ideas for a photo shoot, and as I drove along an old country road in Schoharie County, somewhere between towns that were so small I swore that “Welcome To” and “Thanks for Visiting” were on the same sign, I found…

An old barn.

Big deal.  This is upstate New York, there are plenty of old barns out there.

But this one had a beat-up church organ in front of the barn.

Hmm…

And on top of the church organ was a dingy old lamp.

Hmm again… Almost like this was Liberace’s hillbilly piano.

You’re asking who was Liberace?  Man, I gotta do everything for you? 🙂

Okay.

Focus.  Adjust for infrared settings.

And…

Press.

If you C♯ you won’t B♭. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, Kodak HIE infrared film with R72 filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.
If you C♯ you won’t B♭. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, Kodak HIE infrared film with R72 filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Gee. That’s a major accomplishment.  Get it?  G major?  Trust me, I got a million of them.

Because you know I’m all about that bout that no

Let’s try this from a straight-on angle.  Maybe I can create a choice of angles and pick the best one for competition season.

Sun ducked behind a cloud.

Wait.

Just a few moments…

Cloud moves.  Full radiant sunshine.

And…

Press.

If you C♯ you still won’t B♭. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, Kodak HIE infrared film with R72 filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.
If you C♯ you still won’t B♭. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, Kodak HIE infrared film with R72 filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yeah.  Maybe.

I like this… I really do… but the more I look at these pictures, the more I realize that it’s hard to tell, from the average eye, why there’s an old organ in the field.  Or why there’s a field anywhere and what’s an organ doing in it.

So I’ll keep these pictures in the “maybe” file.  I’ll either improve on these shots with a future exposure… or I’ll just enter these pictures … or …

I don’t know what choice I will make on these shots.

But the nice thing, after all, is –

I have choices available.

Choices are good. 😀

3 thoughts on “If you C♯ you won’t B♭”

  1. This makes my imagination run as wild as those flowers in the foreground. I can almost hear ghostly music in the background. This average eye doesn’t want to know why there is an organ sitting there, or even where “there” is. I would rather pull up a bench, sit and stare, and let my imagination attend the performance! GREAT pictures!

    Like

Comments are closed.