Competition Season 2016: Trying the Iowa State Fair

Two years ago, I took a chance.  Rather than only enter my photos in local and regional competitions, I tried to go – shall we say – interstate.  One picture was shown in a competition in Washington State, another in San Francisco.  But I also “whiffed” in a couple of competitions, one of which was my first attempt at competing in the Iowa State Fair.  I submitted my entries; they were all returned, all unshown and all unaccepted.  GRRRRRRR

Okay.  I picked myself up, dusted myself off, and skipped the Iowa State Fair in 2015.  Sat out a year like I was a transferring college quarterback.  Figured I’d recalibrate myself.  I don’t have to enter photos every single year in every single competition.  Bide my time…

Okay.  Sitout year has ended.  Now it’s time to once again try the Iowa State Fair.

I looked at my available choices for entry.  Four photos maximum, and they had to be entered in specific categories based on theme or creation.  For example, if any of my pictures involve HDR photography, then they must be entered in the HDR category, regardless of subject.  If any of my pictures were shot with infrared film, then they must be entered in the infrared category, regardless of subject.  There is a category called “Anything Goes,” but I’m not sure they’ll be able to handle my splitfilm or three-dimensional photos.  But I do have a picture that might pique their interests.

Today is the first day that they will accept artwork, so…

In the mail today are my four submissions for Iowa.  And they are…

STRIPED CUP OF FLOWERS

A Striped Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor micro 55mm lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
A Striped Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor micro 55mm lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Why this piece?  Of the three “Cup of Flower” photos, this was the only one of the trio that was shot with the High Dynamic Range (“HDR”) technique.  Three images – one over-exposed, one under-exposed, one right on point – and then computer-combined to bring out the highlights in all three images.  I could have entered this in a flower category, but the rules SPECIFICALLY say that all HDR photos must be entered in this category.

AEROCHROME FALLS

Aerochrome Falls. Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak EIR infrared "Aerochrome" slide film with orange filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Aerochrome Falls. Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak EIR infrared “Aerochrome” slide film with orange filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Oh yeah, let’s see anybody else go with a color infrared analogue photograph.  Right up there in the Adirondacks.  And this one did pick up ribbons at the Big E and at Altamont in 2015…  Let’s see if this has one more ribbon left to earn.

JESUS SAVES

Jesus Saves. Nikon F100 camera, Nikkor 300mm f/5.6 lens, Revolog Tesla 2 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Jesus Saves. Nikon F100 camera, Nikkor 300mm f/5.6 lens, Revolog Tesla 2 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This is the photograph I’m entering in the “Anything Goes” category.  Pre-distressed Revolog Tesla 2 film.  The lightning strikes caressing the original neon of the charity mission sign.  Plus, this picture claimed two blue ribbons already (Vermont 2014, Big E 2014), so why not see if it can get some blue ribbon love?

NIAGARA 1970 1995 2016

Niagara 1970 1995 2016. AGFA Chief camera, Kodak Verichrome Pan 70mm film (expiry 1970), Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film (expiry 1995). Photo by Chuck Miller.
Niagara 1970 1995 2016. AGFA Chief camera, Kodak Verichrome Pan 70mm film (expiry 1970), Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film (expiry 1995). Photo by Chuck Miller.

Splitfilm photo, meet Iowa.  Iowa, meet splitfilm photo.  This is being entered in the “Anything Goes!” category, so let’s see how this turns out.

Okay.  The four images are printed.  McGreevy Pro Lab does a great job, for sure.  And I just dropped them off in the mail today.  Let’s see if this combination of new and old can claim some silks… shall we?

6 thoughts on “Competition Season 2016: Trying the Iowa State Fair”

  1. If they aren’t accepted, then as my guy S always says, I’d like to see what is accepted. Oftentimes, it’s quite disappointing.

    Like

    1. Pat – one of my blog readers, Bob Burger, recommended I enter the competition a couple of years ago. I tried it, failed, sat out a year to regenerate my energies, and tried again this season. There’s a few other photo competitions I’m entering in 2016 that I’ve entered and skipped in the past… so we shall see how things turn out.

      Like

      1. Ah, I see, thanks! I’m always eager to hear about your competitions. Of course I think ALL your pictures are winners!

        Like

Comments are closed.