A pew, a one-horned goat, triplets and a very long lakehouse…

No, that’s not the opening line of a confusing joke.

By the time you get up and read this blog post, though, I’ll most likely be out the door, dropping off photo images at McGreevy Pro Lab on my way to the day job.  One of my famous blog slogans is, “It’s not Monday unless I’m dropping something off at McGreevy Pro Lab.”

So why am I bringing photos to the downtown Albany photo processing plant this morning?

Well… two of my pictures will be part of the Photo Center of the Capital Region’s “Best of 2015” members show.  The show, which is part of Troy Night Out, features the Photo Center’s fantastic lineup of photographers and camera experts as they showcase their best work from last year.

And although I could have entered shots like Aerochrome Falls or Vivaldi’s Pond, I had to leave those out of the mix, as both were exhibited at the Photo Center’s “Members Show” a few months ago.

Okay.  With all that in mind… these two pictures will be part of the month-long gallery show at the Photo Center.

The Pew of Holy Innocents. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Pew of Holy Innocents. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

One of the images selected was The Pew of Holy Innocents, the “urban exploration” photo of the distressed North Pearl Street church, which at the time was being used for storing old air conditioners and furniture.  Yeah, I’m sure the designers of that magnificent structure envisioned a ratty loveseat positioned at one of the altars.

Now I already have a print of The Pew of Holy Innocents at a Historic Albany Foundation satellite show at Assemblywoman Patricia Fahy’s office; but that won’t be released in time for the start of this show.  So… I’ll make a second print of this artwork for the Members’ Show; and then I’ll decide where that alternate print might end up.

Trust me, I have options.

Washington Park Lakehouse. Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera, Fuji Velvia 50 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Washington Park Lakehouse. Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera, Fuji Velvia 50 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

The second image that was selected for the show was Washington Park Lakehouse, which I’m printing in an ultra-wide configuration.  This was the photo I took last year – and then left it in the camera for a couple of months, completely forgetting I took it.  Facepalm.  Still, it did get accepted in the show, making it the second picture to come from my Russian camera Raskolnikov to make it to the gallery walls, after my black-and-white tree-branch picture Falling Skyward.

So those two got accepted into the members show.  This is good.

But what’s the deal with the goats?

Well, the photos I took over the weekend at Mack Brin Farms in Ballston Spa have kinda inspired me.  I want to enter one of these photos in competition.  And to really see how things play out, I decided that a few of the pictures will be printed out – and if I like one of them above all, then I’ll enter it for Competition Season 2016.  And right now, my thoughts are to enter a print of this big guy…

Chile. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Chile. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Either that, or these little guys.  I worked a little extra on this picture…

The Triplets. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens, flipped in B&W. Photo by Chuck Miller.
The Triplets. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens, flipped in B&W. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Right now, although the triplets are cute and adorable, and would certainly get an “oh wow” factor, I’m starting to lean towards entering Chile in competition.  Why?  Look at him.  He’s big, he’s old, and he once had a 3-foot hornspan… and in the photo, you’re almost wondering if he broke off one of the horns by chasing the last photographer who took his picture.

So I’ll print both pictures, and then decide which one I like best.  Or maybe I’ll show both pictures, albeit in different competitions so as to not split the vote.

So two pictures for definite show… and two pictures for future show.

This I can work with.

Competition season … it just keeps getting better with time.

One thought on “A pew, a one-horned goat, triplets and a very long lakehouse…”

Comments are closed.