You’re never too old for a CARE package

Yesterday, I put a little gift in a mailer, added postage, scribbled an address, and sent it off to my child, Kris, in Washington State.

I do this on occasion.  It’s the way I roll.

Kris is an adult, but as far as I’m concerned, he still deserves a CARE package now and again.

Why?  Because he’s my kid, that’s why.  You don’t need a better reason than that.

Over the years, I’ve sent several different “package from home” shipments to my kid.  They might include T-shirts from home (I think he still has a Bob & Ron’s Fish Fry shirt), Freihofer’s cookies or donuts or Corn Toasties (Kris REALLY loves the Corn Toasties), snack foods from Stewarts, and even some DVD’s from WMHT (he’s probably the first person in Washington State to have her own DVD of the Hoffman’s Playland documentary).

Sometimes Kris will post on Facebook about a T-shirt that inspires him or that he wants – for example, one of his favorite movies is the Japanese film My Neighbor Totoro.  Once in a while, he’ll post a picture of a customized Totoro T-shirt or hoodie.  What he doesn’t know is that I’ve ordered it and it’s on its way to him.

Look, it’s not like I’m spoiling him.  Far from it.  My Grandma Betty used to do the same thing to me when I was in college – there would be a package of cookies or a tin of brownies or the like in my campus mailbox.  Helped me get through a few days of college life.  No, you can’t have any.  They’re mine. Get your own Grandma Betty to make you some cookies.

Kris goes through a lot in his life.  Every day there are challenges and obstacles that might derail someone with less fortitude.  Doesn’t matter.  Kris still perseveres.  Of course he does.  He’s a Miller, just like me.  We used to joke that we were Millers, born of hearty stock, we would take the bark of trees and use them for the soles of our shoes, that’s how tough a Miller is.

Something to remember.   If you have a family member that’s so far away that you can’t just hop in a car and drive a couple of hours to see him or her, where the only contact seems to be through social media or the occasional phone call…

Just for the hell of it, send that person a CARE package filled with Freihofer’s cookies and Stewart’s donuts, with a T-shirt from the Great Escape or from the Saratoga flat track.

It doesn’t have to be for their birthday or for the holidays or anything.

Just box it up and send it to them and tell them that the only reason you’re doing is is because you still love them.

That’s the best reason anyone can use.

It’s the only reason anybody needs.

So keep an eye out for another little CARE package, Kris.

Just a little treat from home.

2 thoughts on “You’re never too old for a CARE package”

Comments are closed.