K-Chuck Radio: Relaxing with rare tracks

Today is a relax day.  By tomorrow night, I’ll be powering away at the World Tavern Trivia championships in Atlantic City with the Stir Crazy trivia team.  So before I do that…

I need soothing ballads and peaceful melodies.

If I put these songs in my K-Chuck Radio playlist while I contemplate my winning trivia answers for my team… this will put positive vibrations in my mind.

So let’s start with…

CANDY AND THE KISSES
The ’81

Trivia answer?  This Philadelphia stomper was the first co-written hit by Kenny Gamble, he of the 1970’s Gamble & Huff songwriting and producing superteam.  Oh yeah, and it borrows liberally from Martha and the Vandellas’ “In My Lonely Room,” but we won’t say anything about that… 😀

THE BELLS
Moody Manitoba Morning’

Trivia answer?  This was the first song by a Canadian group to reach #1 on the Canadian pop charts AFTER Canada’s broadcast commissions required that three out of every ten songs on Canadian radio have Canadian content in it – i.e., the songs had to either be written by Canadians, produced by Canadians, sung by Canadians or performed by Canadians.

HEART N’ SOUL
Lazy Life

Trivia answer?  This was the first Australian jazz-fusion band to crack onto the Oz pop charts, albeit with a sound more reminiscent of Stax/Volt than anything else.

PETER SARSTEDT
Where Do You Go To, My Lovely?

Trivia answer?  This 1969 British pop hit most likely has the most pop culture name drops and shout-outs for a song of its era.  It also shared the 1969 Ivor Novello music award with some song called “Space Oddity” but someone named… don’t tell me, I’ll get it in a second… 😀

NINA SIMONE
I Loves You, Porgy

Trivia answer?  One of the greatest performers of our generation, and this was her only Top 20 pop hit.  This proves that pop music sometimes is deaf.

THE PEPPERMINT RAINBOW
Green Tambourine

Trivia answer?  Despite having a minor hit with “Will You Stay After Sunday,” the Peppermint Rainbow’s next hit was not only a remake of the Lemon Pipers’ #1 hit… it also used the same orchestration as the Lemon Pipers’ #1 hit.

BRYAN ADAMS
Let Me Take You Dancing

Trivia answer?  This piece of pop froth was actually Bryan Adams’ first hit – after a disco producer sped up his vocals, added a dance beat, and released it in every New York City disco club.  So much for getting a six-string in the summer of ’69…

THE DEMOTRONS
Beg, Borrow and Steal

Trivia answer?  This was a re-recording by a record company in order to compete with the original version, as performed by the Rare Breed… except that the record company eventually leased the Rare Breed’s master and released it under the group’s name, the Ohio Express.  So this little track disappeared … until now …

OSMOSIS
She (Didn’t Even Remember My Name)

Trivia answer?  This worldwide hit was recorded by a South African studio group … whose members’ identities have been lost to history.  Wow.

MANFRED MANN
My Name Is Jack

Trivia answer?  This Manfred Mann track was originally recorded as the soundtrack for the motion picture You Are What You Eat.  And here I thought it was just about grade school friends singing about playing around at recess at the Greta Garbo Home for Wayward Boys and Girls… (smirk)

Okay.  I’m ready.  Let’s go win this trivia tournament.

That’s right… we bad… we bad…

1 thought on “K-Chuck Radio: Relaxing with rare tracks”

Comments are closed.