The High Five Inside

Sunday morning.  I’m at Washington Park.  The tulips have just started blooming.

In two weeks, every photographer and shutterbug worth his or her salt will be all over these flower beds, looking for that great photo.

I didn’t feel like waiting two weeks.

Besides, I wanted to test out some extension tubes – metal rings that go between your camera body and your camera lens to act as image enlargers… or something like that.  And I didn’t want to test this theory out in front of dozens of other people who wanted the same photos I did.

Sunday morning.  Here’s a grove of red-yellow tulips.  Perfect.  Just what I want.

Okay, Chuck… you know the rule of Washington Park tulip photography.

Get on the ground, son.

No.

All the way on the ground, son.  Chest to the dirt.

Aim upwards.  Not to the sun, but at least at an angle.

Ooh, the shadows on this tulip’s interior petals looks as if two people are giving each other a high-five.

Can’t waste this shot.

And…

The High Five Inside.  Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens with extension tube.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
The High Five Inside. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens with extension tube. Photo by Chuck Miller.

It’s in there.  You can see it.  Right?

Of course, now I have another issue on my hands…

This “short pile” for 2016 is getting MIGHTY crowded…

But at least I know that this extension tube thing works.

And if I don’t enter this picture in competition…

It’s only because I came up with a better shot along the way.  For sure.

4 thoughts on “The High Five Inside”

  1. Wow, Chuck!!! I don’t know what you did, how you got this shot but it’s unique! I’ve never seen a tulip quite like this! Yeah, in 2 weeks everybody but Pope Francis will be photographing the Washington Park tulip beds. I might get a few with my Android. Bu who among us would know how to frame a photo like this. DO enter it into competition. If it doesn’t win a prize…
    PS Trust you have seen the young people’s art on display at Albany Center Gallery. That includes some excellent photographs if, there too, I don’t completely understand the technology. I never “graduated” from my Kodak Instamatic. Still wish I’d retained pictures of my summers as a Chantyman at Mystic Seaport & been able to compare those photos on the Charles W. Morgan–last wooden whaling ship in existence–with its makeover! Alas, even an inveterate packrat has to discard things after a while! Ironically, I now have a friend who restores old photos, documents, etc. He scans them into some software and cleans/fixes them up while preserving the original.
    Let us know what prize you win!

    Like

  2. Chuck, are these manual tubes or do they have electronics? I had some luck with tubes and manual lenses on adapters. I can dig that stuff out if you want to borrow it, including an FD 50mm macro lens, I may even have the FD-nikon adapter somewhere? Don’t have to worry about optics in the adapter for macro, especially with tubes, as you know.

    Like

    1. These were manual tubes. I’ve used teleconverters before but the build on them wasn’t as good as I had hoped. This was my first test with the extension tubes, and I may try more of this in the future as warmer weather arrives.

      Like

      1. Yeah, I had lots of luck with tubes, going well past 1:1. Light loss does become a real issue. I had some good experience with the screw-on magnification filters too, actually, especially considering setup is a lot easier. Good luck!

        Like

Comments are closed.